Stuttgart: With the Director

 

IMG_2250b

In the 80s an Ivorian musician, Amadou Balake, sang a song about how his girl was stolen by “The Director” because of Balake’s poverty.  “Amadou don’t come to my house anymore, I’m with the director now.  He took me to my village and his Mercedes was so comfortable, I slept all the way there.  The last time I was in your car, I tore my dress.”

IMG_2204b

 

On Saturday Babou, Vero and I had our last coffees together for 2 weeks until I return from Stuttgart.  There was a Marche Gourmande de Bourgogne in the farmers’ market, displaying the the best artisanal  products Burgundy has to offer; cheeses, sausages, escargots, wine, chocolate, etc.  So unfortunate that I didn’t have my camera.

IMG_2157b

Nearly blinded by tears of regret for our  impending separation and suppressing sobs, we did shop, but not with our usual, over the top, enthusiasm.  Still, our shopping baskets were full and our arms did feel the strain; Comte, a cheddar like cheese and ham from the Basque region, andouille sausage from Val D’Ajol.   We live in France  :P

IMG_2220b

My husband, concerned about me having no one to open jars for me in Sens, bought a handy dandy “jar opener!”  I tried it today.  It’s joining other useless items in the P.O.S. drawer.

Since I left, it seems the Stuttgart freezers and refrigerators have lost that overabundance look.  I’ll have to take care of that :)  I did find some German chicken thighs and had some shitake mushrooms that I brought with me from France.  Lunch sorted.

Shitake Mushrooms with Roasted Peppers

2 tbsp olive oil

1 shallot, chopped

1/4 small onion, chopped

1 knob of butter

3 cups shitake mushrooms, sliced

Salt and pepper

2 tbsp water/broth

1 red roasted sweet pepper, diced

1 tbsp fresh thyme leaves

Soften the onion and shallot in the oil, then add the butter and mushrooms.  Season with salt and pepper, then continue to saute the mushrooms until they are browned.  Add the water, cover and steam for a minute or two.  Stir in the pepper and thyme leaves and cook for 1-2 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Recipes, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Stuttgart: With the Director

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That’s a very nice haul from the market. You do seem to have a special way with the freezer ;-)

  2. Beautiful, wonderful, delicious…. phwoar!

  3. Susan says:

    Your photos are always amazing!

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    While cheddar has it’s benefits, Comte is a fantastic treat and to my mind a far superior cheese. The Wife bought me a ‘Mini Chopper’. Have yo room in the drawer for that too?

    • I grew up with cheddar and it was nice to have that taste again. On the other hand, the Basque comte is a very rich, buttery cheese. I bought a piece for M. Parret, that’s how good it was. Throw it away after she forgets you have it. I do that all the time :D

  5. Damn that looks good! Um, P.O.S drawer?

  6. I just discovered comté recently. I love comté. I could not stop eating it.

    I have that same lid opener. It works, but you will not be able to use the lid again since it scratches the finish.

  7. Nice to have some good cheese to dry your tears with!

  8. Pingback: Chicken thighs with cavolo nero and corn pilaf | foodisthebestshitever

  9. Karen says:

    I know your husband will enjoy your delicious meals and a restocking of the fridge and freezer.

Leave a Reply

