Portuguese Fish Stew

IMG_2102b

I told my husband that I would take the train this Thursday to join him for a while in Stuttgart.  He said he would come and get me with the car this weekend.  I think he didn’t trust me :D

IMG_2050b

Anyway, I had some fish in the freezer that I thought I should use before I’m dragged away; skate, cod and smoked haddock.  I also had some Portuguese chorizo.  So that’s why.

IMG_2062b

This impromptu recipe made a large pot.  Invite the neighbors.  I did and they were glad :)

Portuguese Fish Stew

3 Portuguese chorizo sausages, sliced

1 tbsp olive oil

2 onions, chopped

4-5 garlic cloves, chopped

1 tbsp paprika

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper

3/4 cup white wine

3 cans diced tomatoes (about 14 ounces each)

2 cups water

1 large jar roasted red bell peppers, sliced

1 large can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

Approximately, 1 lb each smoked haddock, skate and cod, cut into chunks

Brown the chorizo slices in the olive oil.  Remove all but 2 tablespoons of the oil in the pan, add the onions and garlic and saute until the onion is soft.  Add the paprika and crushed red, stirring for about 1 minute.  Add the wine and boil down for about 2 minutes.  Add the tomatoes and the water, then simmer for 15 minutes.  Add the peppers and chickpeas, then simmer for another 15 minutes.

Gently stir in the fish and simmer for 7-10 minutes.

Wine suggestion:  Spanish or Portuguese red

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Portuguese Fish Stew

  1. Absolutely fabulous – save me a bowl please (and make it a big one) ;) Have a great weekend!

  2. Karista says:

    Rosemary I adore these kinds of fish stews! I can just taste all the flavors while looking at the photo. Actually, the photo makes me want to reach in and sneak a bite!

  3. This is right up my street – I love fish stew. Cracking recipe!

  4. What a great recipe. I am saving it into my “to try” notebook. It looks ah-mazing! :)

  5. Mad Dog says:

    I was working with a friend today when your email arrived, she copied the recipe down word for word, in order to make it over the weekend – it’s a big hit ;-)

  6. That looks damn fine my friend! I would happily move next door for that one!!

  7. Laura says:

    I can imagine it with a good baquette and some fine wine .. lovely!

  8. mmmmmmm this takes me right back to the Algarve. I can’t get enough of fish stew when we are there. Lovely recipe.

  9. If this is “impromptu” I can’t imagine what a planned fish stew would be! Looks amazing.

  10. trixpin says:

    Beautiful. No other words :)

  11. What a great combo! Wish I had some fish in my freezer. Actually, I wish I had your freezer.

  12. bellasupiana says:

    Looks delicious!!

  13. Mmmhhh, I would have been over like a shot for this one!

  14. Karen says:

    Wish I was a neighbor, your stew looks delicious.

  15. marymtf says:

    What a grown up blog. I love your recipes and I am glad of a new fish stew recipe to add to my collection.

  16. Besa says:

    I love fish stews and this looks so delicious.

Leave a Reply

