Lurking

IMG_1707b

I really had no intention of shopping today.  I just went out for the usual coffee and the next thing I knew, my hands were full of bags.  I didn’t even have my shopping basket!  It all began with an arresting jar of assorted pickled chillies.  So fresh, so colorful and I liked the jar too :)  The ogre who sold them to me was not very helpful when I asked about the spiciness of these chillies, nor did he give me a hint of the recipe’s provenance.  What a butt! It’s like his mother made him come to work or something.  I bought them anyway and decided to pray for him.  Not. I hope you see this post, you troll :D

To lift my spirits, since I was in the market anyway, I bought some duck breasts from Jean Louis, some calf’s liver, some lemons and cherry tomatoes and paid a quick visit to the fish market for some beautiful cabillaud (cod).

IMG_1731b

I wanted to show Babou the new epicerie fine (I guess the translation would be high end grocer with a lot of spices) in town.  She and I both bought some pink salt or sel rose de l’Himalaya.  It has a slight floral taste and, like fleur de sel, is mostly used as a garnish.

IMG_1742b

At the epicerie they had these lovely cans of sardines.  I bought them for the pictures but also intend to eat them.  The very nice owner says that the 2011s are better than the 2012s because they have been in the oil longer.  Whatever.

IMG_1664b

For lunch we decided to go to Bruno’s Plat d’ Etain.  I am so upset with myself because it was a beautiful day, the sun was very bright and although I took these on automatic, I didn’t change my ISO.  I have these awful, glaring pictures of good food that you will not see because I am ashamed of my pictures.

IMG_1651b

I love menus on a chalkboard :)  We didn’t have entrees because we thought it would be too much.  I chose beef tongue with a wonderful cornichon mustard sauce.  You won’t see that because of the glare.  Brian chose the confit of duck legs and I got an okay but not primo picture of that.

IMG_1660b

We began with a Chablis made from old vines.  Very nice and reasonably priced.  We’ve been wearing it out a little when we come to Bruno’s.  You can get a glass or a bottle.

IMG_1662b

Gratuitous picture of our son Brian.

IMG_1670b

Okay, the glaring duck leg confit, photoshopped as much as possible :(   Nice, fresh market medley of vegetables.

IMG_1676b

Brian had a pear, peach tart that he pronounced marvelous.

IMG_1689b

We’re going to have to go back.  These pictures don’t do Bruno nor his restaurant justice.

IMG_1656b

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Food and Wine, French and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Lurking

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I’d say you have a very successful day :-)

  2. AnotherDish says:

    Looks like spring is in full force there! Not even a hint of green here in New England yet. I’m jealous.

  3. Nevermind – now you have to go back :) :) for more pictures! Chablis!!! jeallous – like the jars and sardine tins.

  4. laurasmess says:

    This is a gorgeous post, despite your despair over the bright sunlight! The confit looks divine, as does the setting in general. Glad that you had a wonderful day, thanks for sharing these snaps with us! x

  5. You’re a very nice person. I wouldn’t have bought from the troll. Nice weather makes for a happy heart, maybe? :-)

    • I’m not that nice :) There are many unhappy people in the world and, while I feel sorry for them, I refuse to be unhappy with them. “One monkey don’t stop no show” ;)

  6. Karen says:

    Oh to sit outside and share a lunch with you…how lovely.

  7. Serena says:

    Himalayan salt is often in my kitchen, It’s a very good salt. Your pictures are lovely! It really feels like being there. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

