Sanglier with Apricots

IMG_1303b

M. Parret gave me the cutest little 2 1/2 lb wild boar (sanglier) roast, slaughtered and prepared for roasting by Maurice.

IMG_1275b

I had some more grelots onions and thought that they would be a good addition and they were :)

IMG_1207b

M. Parret likes the little French ratte potatoes and grows them in his garden.  When he harvests them, we eat them for every single meal, my house or his, until the last one is gone.  I’ve told him how boring it is to always have potatoes, no matter what we’re eating, but he just says, incredulously and way too frugally for me, “But it’s the season!”  Because he was coming for lunch, I bought these at the market to get a jump on his harvest so that I can say, “I already made those.”

IMG_1246b

I just washed and boiled them in salted water.  M. Parret didn’t like that the skins were on. Health is meaningless to this man.  “You  just couldn’t be bothered to peel the potatoes”, he accused.   Maybe :D

IMG_1287b

It’s the beginning of the strawberry season and the famous French gariguettes are on offer at 19.20 Euros per kilo.  I call that steep and possibly because of our American palates, we can’t appreciate their apparent excellence.

IMG_1218b

So for my strawberry mousse dessert, I bought normal strawberries at 3 Euros per kilo. They were from Spain but I didn’t tell Le Parret and he ate his dessert with enthusiasm.

IMG_1231b

You can make this mousse with any reasonable fruit.  I want to do one with peaches.  Easy, easy, easy.

Strawberry Mousse

3 gelatin leaves

1 lb strawberries, chopped

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup fromage blanc or Greek yogurt

7 ounces heavy cream

Put the gelatin leaves in cold water to soften.  Heat 1/4 of the strawberries in a sauce pan with the sugar until the sugar is dissolved.  Stir the softened and drained gelatin leaves into the hot strawberry mixture until dissolved, then stir in the rest of the strawberries.  Stir in the fromage blanc and set aside.

Whip the cream until it forms stiff peaks, then fold into the cooled strawberry mixture.   Spoon into serving glasses, refrigerate for 3 hours, then serve.

 

Boar Roast with Apricots

2 1/2 -3 lb rolled boar roast

Salt, pepper, coriander

2 tbsp olive oil

1 1/2 cups little onions, peeled

1/3 cup white wine

1/2 cup veal/chicken broth

1 tsp fennel seeds

4-5 thin strips tangerine skin

1/2 cup dried apricots, sliced

Season the roast with the salt, pepper and coriander, then brown well in the olive oil (a Le Creuset with cover should work for this or an Emile Henry tajine.) Remove the roast and set aside.  Add the onions and brown.  Put the roast back in the pot, add the wine, broth, fennel seeds, tangerine skin and apricots.  Put the top on and cook in the oven at 400 F for about 45 minutes until no pink shows but the roast is still juicy.

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Sanglier with Apricots

  1. Keith says:

    Now this is a meal I would have loved to have sat down to!! Everything about it oozes pleasure!

  2. Thank you Keith. I was surprised at how tender and flavorful the little roast was. I expected something a little more “boarish” :)

  3. I want someone to give me some wild boar, Rosemary… It’s my birthday in July.

  4. wijayanita says:

    Great pictures! Thanks for sharing! :)

  5. Darya says:

    Hmmm lovely flavors there. I love meat + apricots!

  6. I agree, I love with meat with fruit – one of life’s great pleasures!

  7. Linda Duffin says:

    How lucky you are to have neighbours who drop by with baby boars, all ready trussed for the oven! That sounds like a delicious meal from beginning to end. I may have to invite myself to lunch next time I’m passing through Burgundy ;)

  8. I was once given a sanglier (NO, not road kill) from a friend in village France. It remains one of the best ever food gifts. Do you have any influence with Mr Parret??? And a son willing to travel with one to Paris?

  9. Mad Dog says:

    That’s a lovely piece of wild boar – I think I’ve only had it casseroled :-)

  10. KhoaSinclair says:

    Looks great as usual! I love that the skins were on!

    http://www.khoasinclair.co

  11. Bettina says:

    Amazing pictures, thank you for sharing, love the idea of the tangerine, makes it so refreshing specially on this time of the year.

  12. I need to move to France. Nobody gives me wild boar here. That looks like a delicious meal.

  13. Amanda says:

    OMG those strawberries. Wow. And wild boar? Given to you by someone? This meal isn’t fair. It’s just not.

  14. That looks fabulous! Such a wonderful meal to celebrate spring too.

    (and what M. Parret doesn’t know, still apparently tastes delicious ;-) )

  15. Jody and Ken says:

    Sanglier!?? Sanglier!! How lucky for you. A month ago while in Texas, my brother tried to shoot a wild boar on his ranch (they’re terribly destructive on local habitat, so there’s open season on them all year round)… and missed. I subsequently saw a local advertisement for a man looking to purchase wild boars – for $5 apiece. Interestingly, if you shoot a boar on your land, you can 1) dress and eat it yourself or 2) Sell it to someone who will export it, usually to Europe. What you cannot do is sell it to a local restaurant, who has to buy his wild boars from certified dealers, who usually import them from… Europe.

    Anyway, your recipe looks and sounds delicious. I’m surprised it would get so tender in such a short time–ours are tough guys. I’m jealous. Ken

    • The wild meat that they are hunting comes from the Foret d’Othe or the other forest up by Troyes. The hunters, during off season, regularly maintain the habitat and see that everything is eating well and in good health. Everything is tender. More than that and it would have been dry and unpalatable.

Leave a Reply

