Guinea Fowl with Mushrooms and Chestnuts

IMG_1192b

I saw this recipe in the French Saveurs magazine and, loving guinea fowl supremes, I wanted to make it.  The recipe called for fresh girolles mushrooms and I wasted several days looking for them.  Finally, the mushroom and herb lady at the market told me that they were not in season but that I could use dehydrated mushrooms.  I didn’t want to do that so I substituted pleurotes for the girolles.  I think that the girolles would have made this dish a bit more elegant, but it was still delicious.

IMG_1166b

What is a supreme of guinea fowl?  It’s half of a boned breast section with the wing drumstick attached.

IMG_1118b

Buy the roasted and peeled chestnuts in a jar at some gourmet store and cut those big ole pleurotes into thick strips.  If you are lucky enough to find girolles, cut them in halves.  Try to find a better quality of jarred chestnuts than I did.

IMG_1070b

In the meantime, feeling grabby, I grabbed a couple of “bouquets” of young artichokes to roast in the oven.

IMG_1095b

I gave this plate to my son to keep his motor running while I prepared the guinea fowl.

IMG_1123b

Quick and easy.  I changed the sauce a bit.

Guinea Fowl with Mushrooms and Chestnuts

4 guinea fowl supremes, seasoned with salt and pepper

1 1/2 tbsp olive oil, plus a little for oiling the roasting pan

1/2 cup white wine

1 cup chicken stock

4 branches of fresh rosemary

1 lb pleurotes mushrooms(cut into strips) or girolles(halved)

1 jar roasted and peeled chestnuts

2 tbsp butter

Salt and pepper

Cinnamon

Brown the supremes in a skillet with the 1 1/2 tbsp of olive oil.  Oil a roasting pan with a little olive oil and roast the supremes, skin side up in a 400 F oven for 15-20 minutes.

Pour the white wine into the same skillet and reduce by half.  Add the stock and rosemary, boiling until reduced by a third, remove the rosemary, set aside and keep warm.

Brown the mushrooms and chestnuts in the butter, then add salt, pepper and a sprinkle of cinnamon.

Serve the guinea fowl with the mushrooms, chestnuts and sauce.

Wine suggestion:  Julienas

        

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Guinea Fowl with Mushrooms and Chestnuts

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Wonderful, especially with that artichoke starter :-)

  2. Linda Duffin says:

    Lovely combination of flavours, I can almost taste it from here.

  3. pepaulmier says:

    That sounds good, I am getting hungry,

  4. Mhmm Guinea Fowl is so delicious, and even more so with chestnuts. Drooling at my desk.

  5. cecilia says:

    I love how you roasted the artichokes, I have never eaten guinea fowl, mine are too old and tough now so they get to wander about the garden until they drop dead on their own. Have lovely day wandering the markets ‘grabbing’!.. c

  6. Oh that looks fantastic! And thanks for explaining what a supreme was – I was just about to head off and look it up!

  7. How do you make the roasted artichoke? (your recipe?) Can you deep fry them too? (your idea and recipe?) How do you eat the oven roasted artichoke?? (the same way you do a boiled/steamed artichoke)?

    • Remove the stems, slice off about a quarter of the top and pull off the tough outer leaves. Put the artichokes in a big bowl with 2 tbsp of olive oil, 1 1/2 tsp lemon, 2 tbsp your herb choice, chopped (I used parsley), 3 huge cloves of garlic, slivered. Mix. Roast at 400 F(200 C) until tender(about 15 mins.) Eat them with a knive and fork; they should be very tender.

      I’ve never deep fried them.

  8. This looks quite elegant to me, even without the girolles.

  9. Serena says:

    Wow! What a stunning offering! Lucky people who ate that!

  10. Those artichokes are well sexy… And the guinea fowl makes me remember the days when my cousin was breeding them a couple of years back. Them and free range ducks and chooks… They were the days!

  11. Beautiful food as always, Rosemary – stunning ingredients indeed.

  12. Michelle says:

    I think I’ve said this before, Rosemary, but I really don’t get why pintade is hardly ever eaten here in the States. When I do see them, it’s usually a frozen whole bird of uncertain origin and more than I want to deal with. My grandparents on both sides always raised guineas. But nobody ever thought to eat them! Such a shame, because as you show here, the supremes are so delicious. Did your family eat them?

Leave a Reply

