Ti Pwa Lardons

IMG_1047b

When I was in Haiti in the 80s, I remember a Haitian Creole song on the radio that praised petit pois or fresh peas.  It was about peas served with something but I have forgotten the song lyrics.  Too bad.  I really liked that song and I love fresh peas!

IMG_1034b

I served the peas with veal chops but just as I had taken the pictures of the peas and was getting ready to cook the chops, I had a phone call that I couldn’t refuse.  I handed the plate of peas to my son who was hovering and he ate some as an entree :)

IMG_1022b

It was a pleasant surprise to find fresh French peas in the market.  I thought I would have to wait until September.  I tasted a few right from the pod and they had that naturally sweet, greeny taste that I always look for in my peas.  I ate a few more.  In the next stand over, I found some small oignons.  They are called grelot jaune.  Unless you like to do things the hard way, blanch the onions in the skin for about a minute and that will make it easier to peel them.

Fresh Peas with Onions and Bacon/Lardons

2 lbs fresh peas

1/4 cup lardons/bacon diced

8-10 small onions

1 1/2 tbsp butter

Black pepper

De-pod the peas into a bowl and set aside.  Brown the bacon, take off the flame and set aside.  Blanch the onions in boiling water for 1 minute, remove, cool a bit, then peel off the skins.

Cut the larger onions in half, place in a pot with 1 tbsp of butter and 4 tbsp water.  Simmer for about 4 minutes.  Add the peas and continue to simmer for 3-4 minutes.  Stir in the lardons and season with black pepper.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Recipes, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Ti Pwa Lardons

  1. I love peas done like this – they remind me of my godmother who was from near Venice and she always said this was the way they cooked them there (sometimes with a little wine vinegar and sugar too). Happy memories of being a child and her offering me “due piselli” (two peas, or a few as we’d say in English) and then just putting two individual little peas on my plate to make me laugh :)

  2. Karen says:

    I’m surprised that you usually get peas in September as I always associate them with spring. Your dish of peas, onions and lardons lookd great and I can see why your son wouldn’t want to wait to enjoy them. :)

    • Thank you Karen. I guess you do get them in the spring but also I remember being able to get them in September when the fresh beans come out. M. Parret says there are two seasons.

  3. Looking lovely–I can’t wait for fresh peas to come into season where I live!

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely. A sure sign that spring is approaching.

  5. Michelle says:

    Looking so forward to pea season!

Leave a Reply

