Artichoke with Brie de Meaux Sauce

IMG_0736b

I saw a woman at the vegetable stand buying two large,  purple, globe artichokes. Because I had never cooked a purple globe artichoke, I asked her how she planned to prepare it.  She replied, “You have to cook them.”  Sotto voce:  “Dumb bunny American!”  I replied, “Thank you.”  Sotto voce:  “Ignorant French cow!”  We smiled at each other artificially as we parted.

IMG_0684b

I bought two also because I like artichokes and though not the same color as our California artichokes, I thought they looked interesting.  I don’t really care for stuffing the artichokes with bread crumbs; it’s okay but I think it’s some how too bulky.  I found this great recipe at Food Republic that I changed very little.  When you fill and broil the artichokes, you end up with a golden crust that you break open to access the rich bubbling sauce in which you dip the leaves.  This very same sauce trickles down and through the whole artichoke.  By the time you arrive at the heart, you feel a swoon coming on :)

IMG_0687b

I do recommend that you remove the choke before steaming the artichokes.  You don’t want it in the way when you are savoring the artichoke heart with this totally decadent sauce.  Although the artichoke preparation is a little fiddly, this is an easy recipe and well worth the trouble.

Artichoke with Brie de Meaux Sauce

2 large globe artichokes

1 large pan of cold water

Juice from 1/2 lemon

1 lemon slice

1 bay leaf

1 large garlic clove, smashed

4 ounces brie de Meaux

3/4 cup heavy cream

1 egg yolk, beaten

1/2 cup parmesan, grated

1 tsp fresh thyme leaves

2 tbsp crushed almonds

Almond flakes

Cut off the tips of the outside leaves in an attractive manner.  Cut off the stem so that the artichokes can sit level in the baking pan.  Remove the soft leaves at the center of the artichoke until you can reach and scrape out the choke.  Place the artichokes in the cold water with the lemon juice.

Bring to boil about 2 inches of water with the lemon slice, garlic clove and bay leaf.  Place the artichokes in a steamer basket, cover and steam for 30 minutes.  Remove and drain, top side down in a colander.

Over a low flame, melt the brie in the cream.  When smooth, turn off the flame and add the egg yolk, 1/4 cup of the parmesan, thyme and almonds.  Stir until well blended.

Place the artichokes in an oiled baking pan, fill the artichokes to over flowing with the sauce, sprinkle with the rest of the parmesan and a few almond flakes, then broil until golden brown.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cheese, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Italian, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to Artichoke with Brie de Meaux Sauce

  1. absolutely beautiful!!

  2. alexrawfootage says:

    I want to mention that is very nice post and that looks so good :) If you can please follow I will be very grateful thank you http://alexrawfootage.wordpress.com

  3. Manny's Gallery says:

    Beautiful Food Photo

  4. Amanda says:

    Gorgeous. This is something I’d rather eat at your table than make in my own. I literally have no clue how to eat an artichoke whole like this, which is ridiculous, I know.

    • Hi Amanda. I grew up in California eating artichokes. They are easy; you just steam or boil, then remove each leaf with your hands and pull the soft flesh from the leaf with your teeth. Good.

  5. Mad Dog says:

    I’m swooning already – those are to die for ;-)

  6. Can’t wait to try this!!

  7. ladymaggic says:

    Reblogged this on Recipes For You 2013 and commented:
    Delicious way to serve artichoke…looks wonderful…

  8. ladymaggic says:

    Wonderful recipe….great way to serve and cook artichokes…Thank you

  9. Karista says:

    Oh this looks like food heaven! I love artichokes, but like you, not crazy about the breadcrumb stuffing. These look divine and I shall absolutely try this recipe. Thanks for sharing Rosemary!

  10. gwynnem says:

    I don’t usually eat artichoke, but this recipe looks wonderful (not to mention those are some gorgeous-looking artichokes!).

  11. Always wanted to “stuff” an artichoke for that very reason you mention…sauce trickles down and through the whole artichoke…YUM! I had to chuckle about your exchange with the woman at the vegetable stand! :)

  12. I do adore artichokes, but have never stuffed one… I alway steam them and then take apart and enjoy the leaves with a dipping sauce. But this looks divine and worth all the fiddling to get the choke out in advance! :)

  13. I’m growing Purple artichokes this year on the allotment – I want to see how they fair in comparison to their green cousins. I wonder if they taste different, or should I not worry and just focus on the brie……

  14. Arlene Poma says:

    What a funny exchange you had over artichokes! Can’t say I’m very patient with people who don’t share recipes. Anyway, the artichokes around here (California) come from Salinas. No purple ones–as far as I know. Love the rich color of purple. Would like to try those.

    • I was just talking about the color with my son. The better thing about the green ones is that after they are cooked, they still retain some of the green color. I like that.

  15. This is beautiful! I love this for company.

  16. Looks truly fantastic, Rosemary – wonderful! A beautiful ingredient!

  17. jaz says:

    i LOVE artichokes! i usually simmer mine in lemon pepper water and serve them with drawn butter. they are also fabulous when roasted in a wood fire.

  18. Jess says:

    This sounds AMAZING! Thank you for sharing!

  19. Damn. I think I feel a swoon coming on now!

  20. trixpin says:

    Stunning pics and delicious sounding dish! I have food envy!

  21. Linda Duffin says:

    Lol. Did you ever read Bill Bryson’s book about retreading his youthful travels round Europe? There’s a great exchange in it in a French bread shop where he’s doing his best to speak French to Madame to little avail (in front of an audience of queueing women) which ends with “and then they all looked at me as though I’d farted in their handbags”. The artichokes look fabulous and I love the idea of the sauce trickling through. Yum.

  22. Karen says:

    This may be the best artichoke recipe I’ve seen.

  23. KhoaSinclair says:

    Wow! Visually stunning and what a great use of the artichokes.

    http://www.khoasinclair.co

  24. Conor Bofin says:

    Very tasty looking indeed.

  25. Trish says:

    looks delicious! I couldn’t help chortling a little at the instruction to ‘cut off the tips of the outside leaves in an attractive manner’. Posing like a supermodel perhaps? With pinky fingers extended? Please excuse my undisciplined sense of humor!

  26. Rosemary, you’re killing me. I just finished dinner an am having a nice glass of aged rum when I stumble decide to check out your blog. I really need to do this in the morning when I can still go shopping. My panko crusted halibut with citrus butter and green beans seems flat compared to your recipe. Baby Lady is going to love this recipe and I actually have 3 beautiful artichokes in the fridge waiting to be cooked, She loves brie AND artichokes so this will definitely be tomorrow’s dinner. It’s a match made in heaven (kinda like Baby Lady and me :) ). Thanks for sharing this post. It really will be dinner tomorrow.

  27. Cecile says:

    These looks so fabulous!! I can’ wait to try these!!

  28. Wow, these look awesome. And I needed a new way to make artichokes. Not that I tire of my standards since artichoke season is so short, but I do like the idea of adding to the arsenal.

  29. What a fantastic recipe, Rosemary! I’ve been checking my artichoke plants every few days already, and now I am getting even more impatient. May have to resort to buying some in the market to try this out :-)

  30. Ready to swoon and am chuckling at the conversation you had! These wonderful, crazy Andalucians won’t eat artichokes that big – they pick them small and only eat the hearts. Every so often I manage to track some down like this and the next time I do I’ll be making this. Of course…I’ll make sure to “cook” it first ;)

  31. That sounds and looks wonderful! I love the idea of the bubbling hot sauce directly in the middle of the artichoke! Genius!

  32. Pingback: Foods by Color: Artichokes

Leave a Reply

