Coquelet Sel Fou

IMG_0647b

At the spice stand in the market, I found a mixture of salt, herbs and spices called Sel Fou or crazy salt.  Well, you know me, I had to try this!

IMG_0586b

I had two coquelets in the refrigerator, so I spatchcocked them, rubbed them with a mixture of the crazy salt and some olive oil and roasted them in the oven.  Easy and delicious.  If you are not in France and can’t find this spice mixture, any good chicken rub will do, although it won’t be quite the same :)  I’ll try to find out the exact ingredients next Saturday and let you know.

IMG_0558b

Nico, Babou’s husband made a red bell pepper stuffed with cream cheese,  herbs and tuna.  We ate it sliced as an entree.

IMG_0607b

Very nice.  Thank you Nico!

Coquelet Sel Fou

2 coquelets or small Cornish game hens, spatchcocked

1 tbsp Sel Fou or Bavarian essence or any good chicken rub

2 tbsp olive oil

Mix the rub into the olive oil, then rub onto the coquelets.  Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.

Place the coquelets, skin side down in a roasting pan and roast at 400 F for 25 minutes, turn, then roast for another 20 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Coquelet Sel Fou

  1. crazy salt! Hahha, I’ve often seen different salt mixtures at the farmer’s market but wonder if it will really affect the flavour. Afterall, salty is salty. Did you find it enhanced the flavour?

  2. Amanda says:

    This looks delicious! I love when I bump into interesting spice mixes. Glad you got it and liked it!

  3. Mad Dog says:

    You’ve definitely found a great new source for food inspiration ;-)

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    Crazy indeed. It does not stop you taking very sane photos. Nice job Rosemary.

  5. You can’t pass up crazy salt!

  6. My French Heaven says:

    Lovely! PS. I bought the exact same plate in a local antique store. I love it!

  7. Absolutely stunning, Rosemary!

  8. ladymaggic says:

    Reblogged this on Recipes For You 2013 and commented:
    Looks delicious….try making your own salt if you cannot buy this one…

  9. I want crazy salt… but I guess you knew that already huh? Looks damn fine my friend!

  10. Trixpin says:

    That dish looks delicious and the potatoes have a gorgeous golden crust on them … mmmmm!
    And well done Nico on the stuffed pepper – I’ve only ever thought of filling them with couscous/mince etc and baking them, but raw with cream cheese looks so delicious and refreshing :)

Leave a Reply

