Georgian Inspired Romano Beans

IMG_0540b

Today I went to the farmers’ market with Babou.  She wanted to introduce me to her spice seller.  What a revelation!  I’ve noticed his tables before but because he has placed bottles of wine at the front table, I assumed the side tables contained more wine.  Not at all.

IMG_0486b

After trawling the supermarkets and health food store, I’ve pretty much given up on finding exotic spices here in Sens and, on trips to Paris, I load up with the things I need. Also a quick look into M. Parret’s barren spice cupboard confirmed my opinion that the French, while excited about fresh herbs and some spices, preferred the tastes of France. Fallacy.  I was just shopping and eating with the wrong people :)

IMG_0441b

M. Henno has a shop, Ma Petite Epicerie Fine in Presnoy, about an hour away from Sens. He comes to the Sens market every Saturday.  This is a very friendly, knowledgeable man, happy in his chosen profession and willing to share his recipes.  He also told me about a spice shop in Paris, Izrael.  Best of all, if you are looking for a particular spice that he doesn’t have, he’ll try to find it for you!  I love him already :)

IMG_0460b

I was so annoyed with the available light when I took the picture of the tomatoes.  These are local French tomatoes and they were red, red, red; you would think GM but they weren’t.  I was unable to capture the color with my camera.  This heavily photoshopped picture was the closest I could come.  I hate heavy photoshopping!

IMG_0482b

But anyway, I like romano beans a lot and when I saw Georgia About’s recipe for Green Lobio with Tomatoes, I knew that I’d be doing that soon.  Attention!  My recipe is inspired by the authentic Georgian recipe, so be sure to check out the site to see how they actually make it.  It’s spicy :)

Georgian Inspired Romano Beans

1 1/2 lbs romano beans, washed, ends trimmed and each cut into about 4 pieces

1/3 cup lardons or chopped bacon

2 tbsp butter

1 onion, sliced

1 red bell pepper, sliced

2 large Roma tomatoes, cut into large dice

1 tsp blue fenugreek

1 tsp coriander powder

1/2 -1 tsp piment d’espelette

1 capsule saffron

1 tsp salt

2 cloves garlic, sliced

1/2 cup walnuts

2 tbsp water

Parsley

Scotch bonnet, seeded and sliced (optional)

Steam the beans, drain, rinse and set aside.

Brown the lardons or chopped bacon.  Drain on paper towels and set aside.  Add and melt the butter in the skillet, then saute the onion and pepper until soft.  Add the tomatoes, fenugreek, coriander, piment d’espelette, saffron and salt, then cook, stirring for 2 minutes. Add the beans and bacon, then continue to cook, stirring for 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, grind the garlic and walnuts together, forming a paste.  Add the paste and water to the skillet and cook for 2-3 minutes more.

Sprinkle with parsley and scotch bonnet(if desired), then serve.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Georgian, Recipes, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Georgian Inspired Romano Beans

  1. frugoal says:

    Looks delicious!

  2. Wow, beautiful pictures. And very detailed writing. You have yourself a new fan!

  3. Don’t get me started on the availability of spices in France. … Every winter we load the car with what we think we will need! The best place I’ve found is Grand Frais which will be nowhere near as good as your spice stall man .

    • We recently got a Grand Frais in town and it’s good for exotic fruits and vegetables (fresh bean sprouts too). However, the spice selection is disappointing. I am so happy with the discovery of the spice man :)

  4. Great find. Both the spices and the Georgian Inspired recipe. I’ve never in my life used fenugreek and I’m so curious about the flavor. Just saw a post on feedthepiglet using fenugreek too. Now I’m really curious.

  5. cecilia says:

    Local knowledge is a wonderful thing.. I sprout my fenugreek seeds too.. adds quite a new dimension.. have fun.. c

  6. AnotherDish says:

    This looks so good to me. I’m very interested in Georgian cuisine, but have yet to try it out in my kitchen. Luckily, these spices are redily available in my area.

  7. AnotherDish says:

    Oops — I meant “readily available…” Getting too used to spellcheck, I guess.

  8. MELewis says:

    Looks lovely. Are romano beans what the French call ‘coco plat’?

  9. 30, Francois-Miron, Paris 75004=IZRAEL. Take a look at recent Trip Advisor reviews. A bit discouraging. TX for this resource Rose. Regardless of the negatives, I will take a special trip there and see what they have that Tang Freres doesn’t.

  10. I love those spice stalls in the markets – we have a couple in our local market on Sundays now. One has the spices all in open baskets, wonderful to walk past and inhale the aroma, but I tend to buy from the other stall, where everything is stored in tightly sealed jars! :-)
    And your recipe sounds delicious – will cook it as soon as the beans and tomatoes come into season!

  11. Mary Frances says:

    I’m always intrigued by new, exotic recipes. I’d love to try this sometime!

  12. ladymaggic says:

    Reblogged this on Recipes For You 2013 and commented:
    Love this way of cooking beans…

Leave a Reply

