Teriyaki Salmon with Chinese Noodles

IMG_0417bb

Our son, who was not able to come home for Christmas, is in Sens/Paris for a few weeks. Really happy to see him and feed him.  Noticing I was having a hard time choosing from the ridiculous amount of food in the freezer, the salmon shouted out, “Me first!”.  So that’s why.

IMG_0382b

I’ve actually been craving noodles for a while, so today was the day.  The herb lady had some lovely pleurotes or oyster mushrooms and gave me a little paper with preparation instructions :)  I love the look of these mushrooms.

IMG_0342b

For noodles I used Chinese egg noodles that come in a package with 3 slabs of noodles.  I used 2 of the slabs but next time I think this dish would be better with udon or soba noodles.

Teriyaki Salmon with Chinese Noodles

4 salmon fillets, skin on

1/2 cup tamari soy sauce

2 tbsp mirin

2 tbsp brown sugar

3 tbsp white sugar

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1/2 inch fresh ginger, chopped

4 large oyster mushrooms, sliced

1 tbsp butter

2 garlic cloves, slivered

1/2 inch ginger, slivered

1 spring onion, sliced

4 cups chicken broth

Tamari soy sauce

2 slabs of Chinese egg noodles or udon or soba

2 handfuls of baby spinach

2 tbsp olive oil

Mix the half cup of soy sauce with the mirin, sugars, chopped garlic and ginger.  Put the salmon in a zip lock and pour the marinade in the bag.  Squish around, then refrigerate for 4-6 hours or overnight.

Put the mushrooms in a dry non-stick pan over a low flame until the mushrooms have rendered their water.  Put into a large pot and set aside.

Soften the slivered garlic, ginger and spring onion in the butter.  Add to the mushrooms along with the broth and season with some soy sauce.  Bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes.  Bring back up to a boil and add the noodles, cooking until just done or according to package instructions.  Stir in the spinach and remove from flame, keeping warm.

Remove the salmon from the bag and pat dry.  Heat the olive oil in a pan, add the salmon, skin side down and cook, turning every 2 minutes for about 6-8 minutes.  Serve immediately with the noodles.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Chinese, fish, Food and Wine, Japanese, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Teriyaki Salmon with Chinese Noodles

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Delicious, can I come for lunch?

  2. Those mushrooms didn’t get “honorable” mention!!! I see them sitting sneakily next to the noodles and salmon. They must have been a great addition. Walking out the door to China town yesterday, I thought about Brian’s FB photo of this dinner. I figured the noodles might have been Udon or soba and agree with they would be a preferred compliment. Rose, how do you get the fish skin so perfectly done? I don’t know how to do that.

    • You noticed the mushrooms :D Heat your olive oil/butter in a none stick at medium high. Turn the salmon every 2 minutes until done to your taste. The skin will be crisp.

  3. I love these flavours, your son must have been thrilled :-)

  4. MELewis says:

    Nothing so satisfying as feeding our offspring when they come for a visit…I’m saving this recipe for my son’s next trip home as he loves all flavours Japanese!

  5. One of my favourite dinners. Very nice!

  6. Gorgeous fish, Rosemary – it looks such a beautiful dish.

  7. houseofherby says:

    This is almost like what I order in Wagamamas, lovely!

  8. Serena says:

    Oh my! This looks so titillating! Even in the morning, which for me is a big deal since I’m not much of a breakfast eater! Just beautiful.

  9. What a delicious meal to welcome him. :) I miss my mum making me fabulous lunches when I used to work with her.

  10. KhoaSinclair says:

    YUM looks amazing the pictures are great!

    http://www.khoasinclair.co

  11. Love it. When’s dinner??

  12. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely as ever Rosemary.

  13. I’ll fess up, in the photo it’s the boiled egg that’s winking at me, something about the combination of fish, noodles and eggs that does it every time.

  14. Beautiful and am so glad that your food talks to you too ;)

  15. I’ve never had bad salmon in Paris. Looks delicious!

  16. What a wonderful meal to come home to :-)

  17. Pingback: Rice with Teriyaki Quail | Daily EZ Cooking

Leave a Reply

