One Day I Wanted a Burrito

IMG_0102b

One day I wanted a burrito.  Not Tex-Mex or the new fangled kind with rice in it.  Do they even grow rice in Mexico?  No, I wanted a burrito like my mother made; refried pinto beans, green chilie, cheese and sliced scallions, wrapped in a warmed flour tortilla.

No pinto beans in France :(  But there was that lobio from Georgia About.  Because I had to soak the beans overnight, it took two days to make the burrito.  So, I took no more pictures.  I just ate it.  It was good.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Georgian, Mexican, Recipes, Sandwich and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to One Day I Wanted a Burrito

  1. Jon says:

    Sounds tasty! Yep, rice is a gringo addition to the burrito as an ingredient, but there is a street-food “taco de guisado” that is a corn tortilla wrapped around rice with a hard-boiled egg (among other options). As far as growing, Mex has a local long-grain variety with a denomination of origin: Morelos. Cheers!

  2. Sounds good… Looks good…

  3. cecilia says:

    Looks good! Glad you just quit and ate it. .. Now I must see if i can go and visit thus Jon (above) he seeems to know a thing of two as well. c

  4. I think I could eat a burrito every day!

  5. jaz says:

    when you need a burrito you just have to get one!

  6. I always want a burrito :-) The beans look great. Such a good idea to repurpose that lobio :-)

  7. Conor Bofin says:

    Love it. I approve of the brevity. I should try it myself sometime.

  8. Trish says:

    Now I want a burrito.

  9. Michelle says:

    I hate rice in burritos, too. And it seems nearly impossible to find them these days without it.

  10. Kat Schilke says:

    I live in one of the lands of BURRITOS.. Definitely in the land of green chili. I get it some days, you just have to have the simplicity beans,spice and a flour tortilla. Looks like your beans made a great Bean Burrito. Waving at you from Santa Fe, NM.

  11. Stephan says:

    I grew up in southern California where burritos were practically a staple as was most Mexican food. I never looked for Tex/Mex while in Paris but the day before I left, I did eat dinner at a restaurant on the Place de la Republique. It was called Le Buffalo Grill and had sawdust on the floor, a bowl of popcorn on the table and BBQ on the menu. The waitresses were dressed as cowgirls and the entire décor was right out of ‘Gunsmoke’.

  12. Serena says:

    ok, now I have to try a burrito… :-)

  13. Stephan says:

    I agree with you on the “bleah” factor of Le Buffalo Grill. One thing I would love to see is for some American producer come in to Paris and have a big chili and BBQ cook-off on the Champs de Mars for a weekend. I think the French would love it and it would show them what Tex-Mex and American southwest cooking is all about.

  14. andmorefood says:

    the best part of the burrito are these refried beans!

  15. Now I know what I’ll with that packet of pinto beans that have been sitting in my larder!! Thanks for that idea, Rosemary!!

Leave a Reply

