Pork and Aubergine Stir Fry

IMG_0076b After a busy morning of drinking coffee and nonessential shopping, I developed a taste for something Asian.  With the refrigerator at maximum capacity, filled with leftovers and vegetables, it was child’s play to figure something out ;)  I had two leftover baked pork chops, an aubergine, 1/4 each of green and red bell pepper, and the rest was practically automatic. IMG_0091b Of late I’ve been doing a lot of sneering at people who can’t tell the difference between to/two/too, they’re/their/there, etc.  “God don’t like ugly”, said my grandmother and I really have to watch my typos because my spell check and grammar isn’t working on this computer :D

Pork and Aubergine Stir Fry

2 tbsp sambal oelek

2 tbsp soy sauce

2 tbsp rice vinegar

2 tbsp sake

1 tbsp sugar

1 aubergine, cubed, skin on

3 tbsp peanut oil

2 large garlic cloves chopped

1/2 inch fresh ginger, chopped

1/4 each, red and green bell pepper, sliced

2 cooked pork chops, bone removed and thinly sliced

Mix the sambal oelek, soy sauce, vinegar, sake and sugar together until the sugar is dissolved, then set aside.

Heat tablespoons of the peanut oil in a wok, add the aubergine and stir fry until brown and tender.  Remove the aubergine from the wok and set aside.  Add the remaining tablespoon of peanut oil, the garlic, the ginger and bell pepper to the wok and stir fry until the peppers are just tender.

Put the aubergine and sliced pork chops in the wok, blend together for a minute, then add the sambal oelek mixture and simmer for 6-8 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Pork and Aubergine Stir Fry

  1. Love your recipes and your beautiful photography. Mercy!

  2. KhoaSinclair says:

    Looks so good! I also get a bit annoyed at such typos.
    http://www.khoasinclair.co

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Pork’s an excellent leftover for Asian flavours – I’d be inclined to do very similar things ;-)

  4. Karen says:

    Isn’t it nice when we have something leftover that we can turn into a new dish.

  5. What a great way to use up the leftovers. I always think moroccan or italian for eggplant but this is great.

  6. Susan says:

    I ended up with some farm share pork bellies and picked them up to find your recipe in my in box the next day. Thrilled. Love your blog.

  7. thechefcat says:

    I usually am not a great of aubergine. But in this combo I have to try it.

  8. There was no pork anymore, but rice, so I tried it and that was also very yummy!! I like that recipe a lot :)

Leave a Reply

