Pork Rib Roast with Pear and Tomato Salsa

IMG_9837b

Au Village Gourmand is both a restaurant and traiteur.  They had this outrageous pork rib roast that I just had to have!  They agreed :D

IMG_9779b

I mean, people!  How could I resist?

IMG_9813b

Lovely pears in the market from the local apple and pear farm, Noslon, gave me pause. Once the eagle eyed stall sellers see me pause, well, it’s a done deal :)  I love life and the people in it!  Call me crazy!

IMG_9748b

Pear and tomato salsa.  Vegetarians, you can just eat it from the bowl plain.  I did.

IMG_9764b

Pork Rib Roast with Pear and Tomato Salsa

1 6 rib pork roast, gently poked all over with a fork

1/2 cup grainy mustard

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup melted butter

1-2 tbsp rosemary, chopped

3 garlic cloves, chopped

For the salsa

3 pears, peeled, cored and diced

1 shallot, chopped

1 large tomato, pulp and seeds removed, diced

1 handful each mint and cilantro leaves, chopped

1 long green, mild chilli, seeds removed and chopped

1/4 cup lime juice

1 tbsp sugar

Mix the mustard, honey, butter, rosemary and garlic together, then rub all over the roast. Roast at 350 F for 2 hours, basting with leftover mustard mixture every 30 minutes, then turn up to 400 F and continue to roast 30 minutes or just until no longer pink inside.

For the salsa, mix all ingredients together and refrigerate.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Pork Rib Roast with Pear and Tomato Salsa

  1. MELewis says:

    Wonderful idea…I love pairing pork with apples but have never tried pears before. Looks delicious!

  2. Yep! There we have it. Dinner for tonight. Just couldn’t think of anything that sounded good. Here it is. The answer, Rose style. Have a mighty good weekend Rose. And a long string of hard earned sleep.

  3. “Call me crazy!”
    You’re crazy :)

  4. Oh, boy. I’m going to give this a go – I’m off to see the village butcher this afternoon. I love the association of porc and fruit!

  5. I love pears but never use them in savoury dishes. This has inspired me to do so it sounds delicious.

  6. Mad Dog says:

    That’s a lovely piece of pork ;-)

  7. cecilia says:

    pork looks grand and this salsa, well that gave ME pause.. c

  8. That is an outrageous pork rib roast! Beautifully prepared and the pear and tomato salsa is brilliant. What a joyful post! :)

  9. jmcheney says:

    Lightness of Being radiating in the gorgeous food!

  10. deedle2038 says:

    I’ve been impressed with how you’ve kept up your blog (and honestly!) through the most trying circumstances I can imagine. and now you are back, and I am thrilled. and this looks gorgeous. must try.

  11. Amanda says:

    Beautiful. Inventive salsa. I like the idea of it with the herbs. You’ve got sweet tempering citrus and fresh herbs. Love it.

  12. Jim Sikes says:

    I am very fond of fresh chutney as this is and make them frequently. This one is a nice combination especially with ripe pears.

  13. Crazy is good, the recipe is great and loving life is the best of all!

  14. Holy bejezuz that looks damn fine!

  15. Bassa's Blog says:

    This looks amazing. I can understand why you could not resist that pork rib!

  16. ChgoJohn says:

    That is one beautiful pork roast and a pear salsa? That sounds incredible!

  17. Hi Rosemary, lovely to see that tagine, I have the same and your post has given me the idea that I can use it for other things too!!! Was the roast from the neck end of the beast? And you didn’t use the cover on it while roasting, did you? I’m going to make this Wednesday night for friends – are six ribs enough for four?

    • The roast was a hit last night – my friends adored it!! The pear salsa was wonderful and I served some braised celery along with it. Only thing was that mine turned out a bit darker than yours, but that could be down to different ovens.

  18. lorvil says:

    you make me so hungry

  19. Karen says:

    I love the combination of flavors in your dish. What I enjoyed even more was “I love life” and you have every right to be joyful. :)

  20. I love pork rib roast! It is my favourite cut of roast and I have one in my refrigerator now. They are not always easy to find here as they are always cut into pork chops but if I find one I snatch it up and brine it in apple cider before I roast it. Mmmmm
    It’s good to have you back to your old self again, your posts are much more bright and airy (joie de vivre) than previously…I am so happy that you have found a happy place and things are working out. And of course I’m glad to see you cooking with joy. \
    much love,
    Dish

Leave a Reply

