Onion and Lardons Smothered Foie de Veau

IMG_9725b

Au Village Gourmand had some lovely slices of calf’s liver that I couldn’t resist.  Today was market day and I always spend a lot of time drinking coffee and lurking around the market and the gourmet traiteurs.

IMG_9712b

As I slowly savored my liver with a small green salad, I thought of my husband and the meals he must be having.  I think I’ll go to Stuttgart in a couple of weeks to cook and freeze a month of meals so that my conscious will stop bothering me.  He wouldn’t have wanted the liver anyway :D

IMG_9737b

The secret of luscious, succulent calf’s liver is to just cook it until it is the color “rose”.  If not, never mind :)

Onion and Bacon Smothered Calf’s Liver

1/2 cup lardons or diced bacon

2 tbsp butter

1 large onion, halved and sliced

2 large pieces of calf’s liver, soaked in milk for 30 minutes

Salt and pepper

Flour

1 cup sherry

Brown the lardons in the butter, then remove and set aside.  Add the onion and cook until soft, then put with the bacon.

Drain the liver, cut each piece in half, season with salt and pepper, then dredge in flour.  In the same skillet that you cooked the bacon and onion, cook the liver no more than 2-3 minutes per side, then remove and set aside, keeping warm.

Add the sherry to the skillet and boil until thickened and reduced to half, stirring ocasionally.  Place the liver in a serving plate, sprinkle over with the onion and lardons, then pour over the sauce.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Onion and Lardons Smothered Foie de Veau

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That looks delicious – I was craving calf’s liver this afternoon too ;-)

  2. Fabulous – calves liver is my “Home Alone” treat!

  3. Nice! I too enjoy a good liver dish. Wish I could convince others…oh well, more for me!

  4. Lovely Rosemary. Haven’t had liver in a while – must remedy that…

  5. Serena says:

    My mom used to make a sauteed onion and liver dish that always made me forget I was squeamish about eating liver…This looks more delicious then her dish, though I bet yours is as delicious as hers! :)

  6. Michelle says:

    I love calf’s liver, too. But, alas, Steve loathes it so I never make it. I may have to send him off to Stuttgart for a time. ;)

  7. Amanda says:

    Decadent and wonderful as usual. Congrats on your good news btw. Such relief.

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    You are certainly on form Rosemary. I love good liver. Sadly, hard to come by here.

  9. AgileWriter says:

    Will definitely try. Enjoy meaty Tomato Bredie. Click:-

    http://food4yourmood.wordpress.com/2013/04/30/dish-of-the-day-tomato-bredie/

Leave a Reply

