Bar aux Crevettes

IMG_9538b

Mind snatched by the lovely, lightly steamed shrimp at the fish monger, I bought some knowing that they would have to be de-headed, shelled and deveined.

IMG_9509b

I usually buy shrimp deheaded and cleaned and ready to cook, but this time I thought that maybe cleaning the shrimp myself might be therapeutic.  What a fool!  At least I had sense enough to have the fishmonger remove the central bone in the bar (sea bass) and prepare it for cooking!

IMG_9517b

It was a little strange.  I thought he would remove the bone by cutting the belly but he cut through the back, which made a substantial receptacle for the stuffing.

IMG_9522b

Not professional nor patient enough to fight the night time artificial light, I put the camera on automatic for the table pictures.  There was really no way to make a pretty picture but at least I got this one before we really started eating and things got really ugly when everyone had a different idea of the utensils we should use for the fish service.  The large cooking spoon was M. Parret’s idea :D

IMG_9550b

Really, the only reason I’m posting this is because the fish was delicious!  I made a lemon sauce to pour over the top and served it with a side of sauteed spinach and tomatoes. Really, really good.

Sea Bass Stuffed with Shrimp with Lemon Sauce

2 tbsp butter

2 shallots, chopped

2 tbsp parsley leaves, chopped

3 tbsp bread crumbs

3 tbsp mayonnaise

1 lb shrimp, lightly steamed, head, shell and vein removed(or just buy them that way), chopped

Salt and pepper

1 sea bass, large central bone removed and split for stuffing, salted inside and out

For the lemon sauce (can make ahead and reheat) 

1/3 cup white wine

1/2 cup cream

1 1/2 tbsp butter

1 1/2 tbsp lemon juice

1 tbsp parsley, chopped

Salt and white pepper

Saute the shallots in the butter until soft.  Remove the pan from the flame, then add the parsley, bread crumbs, mayonnaise and shrimp.  Mix well and season to taste with salt and pepper.  Put the stuffing inside of the prepared fish.

Roast the fish in a 425 F oven for 30-35 minutes.  Remove and allow to rest for 5-10 minutes for prettier cutting.

To make the lemon sauce, reduce the wine in a sauce pan by half.  Stir in the cream and simmer until thickened.  Add the butter, lemon juice and parsley, cook and stir until smooth.  Add a little salt and white pepper.

Wine suggestion:  Macon Village

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Bar aux Crevettes

  1. It does indeed sound delicious and how interesting about how the fish was boned. Unless I go to the big supermarket in Spain, I always have to debone my fish and peel the prawns (am pretty speedy at prawns now!) but will have to give this new (to me) method a go.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    The fish sounds delicious and definitely worth a post ;-)

  3. Michelle says:

    I think that cleaning shrimp is just about my most despised cooking task. Sounds like a delicious dish, though, and well worth it.

  4. That looks the goods. Nice work my friend!!

  5. lunasea says:

    Well thats my dinner sorted then by chance i have all the ingredients. The sea bass is in fillets but i shall improvise!

  6. Karen says:

    Your little bit of insanity lead to a delicious sounding meal. I think I’ll use filets and role them like you suggested to lunasea. By the way, you were not showing up in my reader so I unfollowed and then refollowed. Hope that keeps me up to date with your posts. :)

  7. Amanda says:

    This looks so delicious and fresh. Wow. The lemon sauce sounds amazing too. I absolutely love fresh seafood. Another meal fit for a king.

  8. We need to make a trip to the gulf to stock up on shrimp. I prefer getting them with the heads on so I can make stock, but it is a royal pain that stinks up the house.

Leave a Reply

