Scotch Woodcock with Bonnet

IMG_9468b I first heard of and made scotch woodcock from Jamie Oliver’s magazine, faithfully following the unfamiliar recipe. Today I just pleased myself.  And I did have another goose egg :)

Scotch Woodcock with Bonnet

1 knob butter

1 scallion, thinly sliced

1 celery branch, thinly sliced

1 goose egg, beaten

Salt and pepper

Scotch bonnet, sliced into strips

Melt the butter in a saute pan, add the scallion and celery, then sweat for 5 minutes.  Add the egg to the pan, salt and pepper, than soft scramble. Serve over toast, sprinkling with the scotch bonnet.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Scotch Woodcock with Bonnet

  1. Love the scotch bonnet…I am compeltely addicted to chilies!

  2. Great idea…..I’ve got a feeling that Scotch bonnet might be just a little too hot for me!

  3. reggiorif says:

    Thanks for contributing to my education… I didn’t know what a scotch bonnet was – cute name ;)

  4. Nice dish, Rosemary. I would imagine the Scotch Bonnet slices gave it a considerable kick and am rather surprised you found them in France.

  5. Cecile says:

    I have never seen a recipe posted for Scotch Woodcock, although my grandmother used to make it. Interestingly enough, it seems her version wasn’t authentic as the eggs were in a cheese/pimento sauce & served over toast – which I loved. I’m going to have to find her recipe, which is written in her own hand!

  6. Keith B says:

    Blissfully simple and yet genius too.

  7. What a lovely breakfast that would make this morning.. just missing that Scotch Bonnet!
    ps.. any word on your lovely Jade??

  8. Scotch woodcock reminds me of Welsh rarebit in that there is no woodcock and no rarebit either! Still looks delicious and I love the addition of a little heat to make things interesting.

    Am also sending you very big hugs, Rosemary.

  9. Rörschåch says:

    That looks great. I can honestly say I have never eaten a goose egg. Probably time to remedy that. ;)

  10. Ah, this should work for my husband. And they have scotch bonnets at the co-op

  11. Amanda says:

    Anything spicy is right up my alley. What a great breakfast.

  12. Serena says:

    I also didn’t know what a scotch bonnet was…This recipe makes me really hungry!! Looks delicious!!!

  13. cecilia says:

    I didn’t know what a scotch bonnet was either.. But it looks like a healthy meal.. c

  14. My mouth burns just looking at this… in a good way of course.

  15. Pingback: Caribbean Eats! Cooking with Scotch Bonnet – Video | Caribbean Eats!

Leave a Reply

