The Perfect Goose Egg

IMG_9421b

Today’s inspiration comes from,  I’ve forgotten who, a blog (give me a shout out) that had pictures of big eggs, duck or goose, I can’t remember.  It was Marcus.  Anyway, they were big and I wanted one.  Before today, I had never eaten duck or goose eggs.

IMG_9355b

Yesterday I didn’t go to coffee but instead cleaned the house.  Boy, do I hate that!  But it had to be done and I always feel better afterwards.  Still, it wasn’t an uplifting day :(

IMG_9368b

Today I went to coffee, talked to people, went to the fishmonger and the farmers’ market where I saw some goose eggs at the cheese stand.  The lady at the counter, underestimating American common sense, told me that they had to be cooked longer than regular eggs.  “Really”, I said, all big eyed.  “Thank you!”  And then amused myself by calling her unattractive names in English as I walked away :D  Determined to stay out of the house, I had a dangerous third coffee, went to the pharmacy for unneeded vitamin C and then visited M. Parret for the latest zin.  Zin is Haitian Creole for gossip.  I’m not sure of the spelling.

IMG_9397b

I was very nervous about cooking my goose egg.  Normally, if I boil a large hen’s egg, I put it in cold water over the flame and when the water boils, if I boil it for 8 minutes, this gives me a soft, non-runny yolk.  Well, I looked on the internet and times varied.  I wanted a thick, runny yolk.  Exasperated with my timidity, I decided to boil the egg for 9 minutes, “Come Hell or high water”, as my grandmother used to say :)

IMG_9373b

I found some very pretty spinach at the market today.  I usually go for the baby spinach but this spinach looked so good!  Shiny dark green leaves and juicy looking stems; adolescent spinach maybe :)  Wilted spinach with lardons and shallot topped with a perfectly boiled goose egg.  Living the life!

Goose Egg with Spinach

1/4 cup lardons or diced bacon

1 tsp butter

1 shallot, chopped

1 big handful of adolescent spinach, stems removed and leaves torn

White pepper

1 goose egg

Brown the lardons in a saute pan, then remove and set aside.  Add the butter to the pan and melt.  Add the shallot and saute until soft.  Add the spinach and wilt.  Put the lardons back in the pan, sprinkle with the pepper and remove from flame.

Put the goose egg in water over a flame.  When the water comes to a boil, simmer it for 9 minutes.  Remove the hot water and run cold water over the egg.  Peel, cut in half and serve with the spinach.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to The Perfect Goose Egg

  1. Darya says:

    This looks fantastic! I’ve never had goose egg either, and have never yet seen any at the market (I just had goose breast for lunch though, and it was quite good). Eggs and spinach are so perfect too.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    COUNTRYWOODSMOKE I think…
    It looks like you got the time just right. I can’t help thinking of Scotch Eggs when I look at it, especially one with black pudding instead of sausage meat ;-)

  3. trixpin says:

    Beautiful! And I’m glad you got the egg cooking right – it’s annoyingly complicated for what should be such a simple little task ;) How irritating that the cheese + egg lady didn’t give you some USEFUL information like precise timings, rather than just stating the obvious …

  4. A 3 coffee day always produces results!! We had duck eggs over Christmas – my SIL fried them :) But I need to try Goose eggs now

  5. KhoaSinclair says:

    Looks very good! Love what you paired the egg with!

  6. Beautiful! I’ve heard smaller chicken eggs are better than larger, but I say go big! I’ve never tried goose eggs, must give them a go.

  7. Perfectly cooked and so good with the spinach and lardons – am glad you were able to give yourself a little,much needed treat :)

  8. ROSE, IT’s ME KATHY. I asked, so thanks. You had a quail egg+something else recipe. I asked about quail eggs, goose eggs, how you use them, how they taste, how they differ in taste. So girl, THIS is a tribute to fattening up old me. I love eggs so ask me why I haven’t actually tried other types. Probably someone else has also asked the same question. So I won’t hog the limelight.

  9. I love goose eggs, sadly we had to let our ducks go to a friend with an organic salad farm, but getting lovely eggs from our bantams, lovely recipe and perfectly cooked egg.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  10. Goose egg!! It is so, so, long since I last had one. I think it may be the fresh free-rangeNess of it that I remeber most. Love the spinach with it. Great combo.

  11. Bobbie says:

    Last year I learned from America’s Test Kitchen to boil the perfect soft boiled egg, (which may help to decide how to do an effortless soft boiled goose egg) Use Large eggs just out of the refrigerator. Boil 1/2 inch water in any pan. Put in one to 4 eggs into rapidly boiling water. Put on the lid. Use a timer for 6 1/2 minutes exactly. Put under cold water faucet for 17 seconds. Drain. If you want to peel them like a hard boiled egg, don’t worry. The whites and the yolks cook perfectly for me each time. Crack the egg like you would hard boiled…it will peel easily.
    I don’t know how large a goose egg is, but I’ll bet you could extrapolate from this recipe. The idea is to be steaming them instead of boiling, so you have more control

  12. I’ve never had a goose egg – it looks wonderful…

  13. cecilia says:

    I can just imagine you looking wide eyed and innocent saying nasty things every so sweetly!! laugh! And my grandmother said come hell or high water too but she was devoutly catholic and terrified of Hell so she said Come Heck or High Water. Did not really have the same ring to it!! And we all knew what she meant anyway.. I am terrified of goose eggs and duck eggs for that matter, they are just so , i don’t know.. large.. though I just ordered 6 ducklings to be delivered in May. sigh.. c

  14. Cecile says:

    You did such a great job of photographing what I imagine was a difficult subject. I’ve never had a goose egg but I’d love to try one. You did a good job cooking the eggs – in fact, it looks perfect. When I was a kid someone gave my mother some duck eggs. We refused to eat them.. One day we had some really excellent scrambled eggs. Once we were done eating, my mother asked how we had like it. Then, with a rather wicked grin, she announced the scrambled eggs had been made from the duck eggs we’d refused to eat!

  15. I have never had a goose egg either. Love your spinach and eggs a healthy fun alternative for lunch or dinner. Maybe I should start using big goose eggs to feed my hungry teenage boys!

  16. Kate says:

    Beautiful! I have never had a goose egg but I would love to get my hands on one. How does the taste differ from a hen’s egg?

  17. Mr Fitz says:

    Goose eggs are great! we are lucky enough to have an old chap who come to the pub with his fresh goose, duck and chicken eggs.. the goose eggs are a lttle rarer though!

Leave a Reply

