Freezer Surprise – Fresh Borlotti Beans with Cured Pork

IMG_9140b

Fighting total frustration, I looked in the freezer today and found some frozen fresh borlotti beans!  Excitement!  I also saw two pieces of what looked like cured ham/pork( God knows where they came from) and was thereby committed to cooking.

IMG_9113b

I gathered the odds and ends from the refrigerator, pantry and onion/potato/garlic bin and just went with it.  Thierry stopped by and ate some with relish while I looked on pleased. Encouraging interlude.

Pork and Borlotti Beans

1 glug of olive oil

4 shallots or 1 large onion, chopped

4-5 garlic cloves, chopped

1 large red bell pepper, diced

3 bay leaves

4 sprigs thyme

1 can diced tomatoes

1 tbsp piment d’espelette

1/2 tsp black pepper

2 chunks of cured pork or 2 ham hocks

Water to just cover the pork

1lb fresh borlotti beans

Chopped fresh basil

Saute the shallots, garlic and bell pepper in the olive oil until just tender.  Add the bay leaves, thyme, tomatoes, piment and black pepper.  Stir and cook for about 2 minutes. Add the pork and water, bring to a boil, then simmer for 30 minutes.

Add the beans and continue to cook for 1 hour.  Remove the pork, cut into chunks, then put them back into the pot.  Ladle into bowls and sprinkle with the basil.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Freezer Surprise – Fresh Borlotti Beans with Cured Pork

  1. I do like the look of this :-)

  2. Fantastic ingredients – it looks great. I love it when you find some food you didn’t know you had!

  3. Linda Duffin says:

    Lovely idea, thanks. I have tons (well, pounds) of borlotti beans in the freezer and it’d be nice to do something with them other than put them in soups.

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    Your freezer seems to endlessly give up greatness. It reminds me of Mary Poppins’ carpet bag.

  5. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent – I might have to go on my own freezer expedition to look for some pork ;-)

  6. I love this Narnia-esque fridge/freezer you seem to have. It must be damn large to have the room for all of its welcome surprises.
    Nice one!

  7. cecilia says:

    I have ham hocks!! c

  8. Serena says:

    I know, I am a vegetarian and I probably shouldn’t say this….But borlotti beans + pork is just perfection!!! :-)

  9. Ooh yum – we had Fabada Asturiana yesterday which is the northern Spanish version of this – but now I fancy your version!

  10. There is nothing more satisfying then managing to use up all your odds and ends in my opinion…especially when they give you something as delicious as this!

    As I sit hear waiting for my better half to get home so I can serve up dinner, my stomach is grumbling like a disgruntled civil servant. Nice one.

Leave a Reply

