A Plate of Roasted Pumpkin

IMG_9075bb

Little French pumpkins or potirons are so cute.  Whenever I see them in the market, I just want to buy one to look at.  However, this is a cooking blog and the little pumpkin had to go down!  It’s like Cecilia’s pigs, the time comes when, well, it’s time to do the necessary.

IMG_9061b

I didn’t know what I was going to do with the pumpkin, but I had an aged onion that said, “plant me or cook me!”  So I threw together a few things and roasted them.  I had intended to roast some rosemary scented chicken legs with this but lost enthusiasm.  This was good on it’s own.

Roasted Balsamic Pumpkin with Onions

1 very small pumpkin, peeled and cut into small chunks

1 onion, peeled and quartered

2 garlic cloves, sliced very thin

3-4 sprigs of thyme

2 tbsp butter, melted

Salt and pepper

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

Mix together the pumpkin, onion, garlic, thyme, butter, salt and pepper.  Place in a roasting pan and roast at 400F for 15 minutes, stir, then continue to roast for another 15 minutes.  Sprinkle with the vinegar, stir and serve.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Recipes, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Plate of Roasted Pumpkin

  1. reggiorif says:

    Quick, simple, honest and looks yummy!

  2. bec {daisy and the fox} says:

    Yum! Sounds wonderful! You can never go wrong with roasted pumpkin :P

  3. Wonderful and very simple. That pumpkin is absolutely gorgeous – very cute indeed.

  4. awoni3 says:

    Simple and lovely. You’ve inspired me to have roasted squash risotto tonight :)

  5. Serena says:

    The simplest things are often the most satisfying. This dish looks wonderful!

  6. Vine Vampire says:

    I love this recipe for so many reasons, and one of them is the simplicity <3 I must try it out this weekend, thanks for sharing!

  7. MixerUpper says:

    Of course American pumpkins aren’t as cute as French ones (although they originated here), but I like to cook them into smoky chipotle slices: http://mixerupper.com/2012/10/25/smoky-chipotle-roasted-pumpkin/

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    Plant me or cook me. Excellent.

  9. Cecile says:

    At first I thought you were referring to MY pigs… the ones we raised when we had our farm in Quebec. I could never bring myself to eat them…but they sure did smell good when roasted whole on an outdoor spit! Love this recipe – want to try it with butternut squash!!

  10. cecilia says:

    We eat a lot of pumpkin in NZ, though beheading such a cute wee pumpkin has probably scarred you for life!! Shall I send you some pork and then we can share the therapy! c

  11. Mary Frances says:

    I love the red-orange exterior of French pumpkins! This recipe looks perfectly simple and delicious!

  12. What a pretty pumpkin – perhaps it would have turned into a carriage if you had left it!

  13. marymtf says:

    I’ve come to love pumpkins since I started baking them for myself. My mother is a brilliant cook, but she can’t do roast potatoes or pumpkin (don’t tell her). Not having access to cute little pumpkins (lucky girl), I just cut them into small pieces and season them. I’ve never tried balsamic vinegar in baking. I will try this one out and let you know.

  14. Anne-Marie says:

    Hi .. just found your blog and I love the pumpkin recipe! I just started growing squash this year and ended up sharing with friends and then cooking up the squash, freezing them in containers to use for soup and stews. I’m inspired to try this method of cooking .. looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

