Foie Gras with Latkes and Apple Compote

IMG_8963b

I’ve never been a big fan of apples.  I don’t hate them or anything, not like raisins, but I’ve just never been excited about them.  I did like those little, red, hard apples from Washington State but that’s pretty much it.  In consequence, I don’t know the difference between a cooking apple and an eating apple.  Tant pis!  The fruit people in the market will tell me.  That’s what they’re for.  Otherwise it would be a supermarket.

IMG_8907b

I told the lady at the fruit stand that I wanted to make an apple compote and that I wanted a very firm cooking apple.  She said that either Conference or Ariane apples should work but said that she preferred the Arianes.  Mainly because they are more expensive, said no fruit seller ever :)  A good sport and because they were pretty, I took the Arianes.  The night before, sleepless in Sens, I had two persistent ideas:  1) The mattress on the bed is primitive and I need to buy a featherbed.  2)  I should pan fry some foie gras and pair it with apple compote.  So that’s why.

IMG_8911b

Not knowing what to do with myself, instead of the usual toast I decided to make latkes and top them with the foie gras.  While I was grating the onion (nerve wracking), I felt an anxiety attack coming on, so I stopped that and minced the onion instead.  For anxiety attacks, chew 1/2 valium or eat a big ole latke with apple compote.  Your decision.

IMG_8940b

I like my compote with discernible bits of apple and I think it’s more attractive then dripping, gloopy apple sauce.  My husband disagrees.  His mother used to make red apple sauce.  Just stating a fact.

IMG_9011b

Foie Gras with Latkes and Apple Compote

4 large apples, peeled, cored and diced

2 tbsp sugar

1 cinnamon stick

2 tbsp butter

6-8 tbsp water

6 medium potatoes, peeled and grated

1/2 onion, grated or minced

Salt and pepper

1 egg, beaten

1 cup peanut oil

4 large lobes of foie gras or 8 small

Bring the apples, sugar, cinnamon stick, butter and water to a boil.  Cover, reduce to simmer and cook for 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Set aside and keep warm.

Put the grated potatoes in a kitchen towel that you don’t like very much and brutally wring the water from the potatoes.  Put the potatoes in a bowl, add the onion, salt, pepper and egg.  Mix well.

Heat the oil in a skillet until hot, then add the potatoes in 1/3-1/2 cups, mashing down to form a cake.  Cook and brown on both sides, drain on a paper towel and keep warm in the oven.

Briefly sear the foie gras in a hot, dry skillet, about 40 seconds per side.

For each serving, place a latke on the plate, put one or two pieces of foie gras on the latke, then top with the apple compote.  Enjoy!

Wine suggestion:  Fleurie

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, German, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Foie Gras with Latkes and Apple Compote

  1. That look delicious – I wonder how others will react to the foie gras… It’s always a controversial ingredient, not that it particularly affects me! Also, have you ever tried a braeburn apple? My favourite – so sweet, firm and juicy. I always say that to find a good apple it’s important to ruin 3 others first – you have to give them a very hard squeeze and if they give at all they probably won’t be exquisite. Of course, don’t waste the ruined apples…

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Delicious – those latkes look amazing and wonderful with foie gras and apple I’m sure ;-)

  3. Cteavin says:

    I have a block of foie gras in my freezer left over from New Years. This is great idea. I might use it.

  4. cecilia says:

    I love your fruit seller, nothing like knowledge and wit, I am also more fond of stewed apple than apple sauce, unless it is appelmous which is served piping hot, (I had a dutch mother in law once – great cook).. Now OFF you go.. into town.. order a feathery soft mattress and get them to deliver it! Can you find those lovely Australian sheepskin mattress covers there? They are very very comfy. miss c said! c

  5. Serena says:

    Wow!!!!!!! Looks absolutely stunning AND delicious! And so much better than apple sauce!

  6. Cecile says:

    Wow – you really ‘hit it out of the park’ with this one! Quick story about my fruit seller in Malta. A lovely man & his wife, who had a fruit & veggie truck, frequented our neighborhood each afternoon. (How convenient is THAT!) They would let me select my own items… but…my beautiful Russian friend was not allowed to. And, sometimes, they’d put some ‘past their prime’ veggies & fruit in my friend’s bag. My theory – because they thought she was German – and the Germans had bombed ‘the hell outta Malta’ during the Second World War. I guess some grudges last for a long time…

  7. I like this a lot, both as a remedy to an anxiety attack and as just plain good eating!

  8. What a great idea to pair the latkes with the foie gras AND the apple compote! I’m always anxious about grating apples, lest I get some finger into it :-)

  9. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely post. I love it when you get antsy. You write with a lovely edge.
    Best,
    Conor

  10. I know some people think it’s immoral or illegal to love foie gras,,,but I like to be a little immoral sometimes! Gorgeous recipe and I agree with miss c – go buy that new mattress!

  11. I have eaten foie gras with apple compote which I think is a beautiful combination. Yours looks delicious!

  12. Michelle says:

    That dish would surely help. But why choose? ;)

  13. When I read this I was instantly translated to an sidewalk café in Strasburg. Glorious!

  14. Tessa says:

    Looks amazing Rosemary!

  15. That looks Gorgeous, I love the recipe I can’t wait to try it later xx

  16. Pingback: Apple-Cinnamon Upside-Down Cake | Recipes for a Healthy You

Leave a Reply

