Magret de Canard with Baby Turnips in Butter Sauce

IMG_8866b

Monday’s farmers’ market was pretty grim.  I think the French ate everything during the holidays; very few vendors and not a lot of choice.  I guess it could just be that it’s winter, but I still think they ate everything :D

IMG_8820b

Fellow blogger Greg inspired me to give the baby turnips a closer look.  They were cute and looked relatively undamaged by the cold weather.

IMG_8837b

I decided to go with some diced green bell pepper, shallots and a Jamie size knob of butter. I could have stopped there, but why?  There was that huge duck breast from Jean Louis in the refrigerator, yearning for my attention.

IMG_8832b

Having lost the market rhythm, I walked right past all the fresh herbs, thinking of nothing or too much.  Whatever, I used dried herbs on the breast but fresh would have been better.  Because it was pretty thick, in addition to scoring the fat side, I lightly slashed it 3 times on the meat side, then cooked it normally.

Duck Breast with Baby Turnips in Butter Sauce

1 large duck breast

Salt and pepper

Olive oil

Mixed fresh herbs (sage, rosemary, thyme), chopped

1 lb baby turnips, quartered

1 knob of butter

1 large shallot, chopped

1/4 large green bell pepper, diced

3-4 tbsp chicken or vegetable broth

Score the duck breast on the fat side in a diamond pattern.  Lightly slash the meat side 3 times.  Season with salt and pepper, rub on a little olive oil, then rub in the herbs.  Wrap in plastic wrap and set aside for an hour.

Melt the butter in a frying pan, add the shallot and bell pepper, then saute until the vegetables just begin to soften.  Add the turnips and brown a little.  Add the chicken broth, cover and steam for about 10 minutes.  Set aside and keep warm.

Cook the duck breast in a hot skillet on the fat side for 8 minutes, pour out the accumulated fat, turn the breast over and continue to cook for 6 minutes.  Allow to rest for 5 minutes, then slice and serve with the turnips.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Magret de Canard with Baby Turnips in Butter Sauce

  1. I’m left wondering wondering what a Jamie size knob of butter is now :)

  2. pepaulmier says:

    That sounds good, and yes, blame it on the French, they eat everything. LOL

  3. Mad Dog says:

    That’s a beautiful duck breast and I’m sure that eating everything is good, except when there’s nothing left :-(

  4. Serena says:

    Monday’s farmers’ market (IN FRANCE!) was pretty grim…Ahhhhh! You’re killing me with envy! ;) Looks like you managed to create something absolutely scrumptious anyway. Kudos!

  5. KhoaSinclair says:

    Looks good! I never like baby turnips but I’ll just have to try this!

  6. Trade you on the farmer’s markets! If I was in France I would eat everything too. :) Though I’d have to do a ton of walking. Another great duck dish.

  7. Lovely looking meal. Duck is one of my favorite meats but, alas, it’s red meat and Baby Lady doesn’t eat red meat. As such, duck is generally off the menu. :( Of course, that didn’t stop her from eating the duck pastrami I made. :D Go figure.

  8. Darya says:

    This looks delicious, and my boyfriend adores turnips, and I never really know what to do with them. I’ll let him get some next time we go to the market. Our market on Sunday was quite the opposite; empty of people (probably still digesting their New Year’s “réveillon” ;) ) and full of beautiful food. I even found parsley roots!

  9. Conor Bofin says:

    I love the shot of the finished dish Rosemary. The duck looks glorious.
    Happy New Year,
    Conor

  10. cecilia says:

    That is an enormous duck breast! I am going to grow ducks this year so I can have breasts like that!! ha ha ha .. (ok that was lame but i am cold!!) lovely lunch..I love turnips, we used to eat them all the time in NZ.. c

  11. Our turnips weren’t nearly that cute. Glad we could inspire you. That duck is making me want duck all over again! And the turnips look wonderful.

  12. That looks delicious, Rosemary – great shots. Hope you’re keeping well.

  13. That duck breast looks to die for :-) .Naughty french people for emptying the market ;-)

  14. How funny – the French ate everything but you made do very well and those turnips look gorgeous. I rarely think of serving them alone (i.e. not in a soup or stew).

  15. andmorefood says:

    you truly cook some beautiful food!

Leave a Reply

