My Husband’s Apple Pie

IMG_8678b

My husband decided to make an apple pie today because he loves apple pie.  I helped him to choose some apples and we decided on pink ladies because we liked the name.

IMG_8631b

I gave him an easy recipe, two pieces of pre-rolled butter pastry and things started shaping up.

IMG_8653b

Too bad he mistook my canister of curing salt for the sugar.  Otherwise, this would have been perfection.  Too old to travel :D

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to My Husband’s Apple Pie

  1. Mad Dog says:

    OMG – it looks so nice too ;-)

  2. Cecile says:

    Oh – mistaking salt for sugar… too bad. And he’s far from the first to do that!! The pie looks delicious. I, too, put some bits of butter on the top of the apples. I used an old recipe that I’ve adapted a bit. It includes some flour when you mix the apples with the cinnamon – AND SUGAR !!
    ; o )

  3. Cecile says:

    I’d love to see the recipe !!!

  4. I love apple pie. Using pink ladies is inspired. My favourite apple but a rare treat as they are very expensive around here!

  5. Laura says:

    It is indeed beautiful – did you discover the salt-sugar error only when tasting? Too bad … but it is lovely!

  6. Oh, no! And it’s so pretty, too. I love Pink Lady apples and I’ll bet with a little sugar this would have been terrific.

  7. I think most good cooks have switched up the sugar and salt at least once! Looks gorgeous though.

  8. wow, what a luscious delicious looking apple pie….
    i guess i can barely know that your husband who prepare it, since my father used to made it with a pretty big chunck then……

  9. Kavey says:

    oh no what a bummer!

  10. cecilia says:

    I saw that happen on ‘Chopped’ once. I laughed! I watch it on the tele when I visit my son in Cali. Ah well. Back to the market you go – for more ladies in Pink!.. c

  11. ¡Qué guapos! (Both husband and pie ;-) )

  12. Oh dear (and it looked so beautiful). My grandmother did that with a meringue once and we NEVER let her forger it!

  13. Laura says:

    Oh my, glad I am not the only one with cooking mishaps. I made the most beautiful tiramisu for Christmas Eve, and discovered my whipping cream had turned sour when I tasted the “finished” product!

  14. You are joking, no? That’s a damn shame. And such a good looking pie. I hope the new year is good to you folks…

  15. caroline in tokyo says:

    That is hilarious! And a shame too. Gorgeous photos as usual. Happy New Year!

  16. Oh no, I once mistook the salt for the sugar in a cafe and ended up with seemingly tons of sugar on my fry up. on the positives it was good enough to photograph :)

  17. What a wonderful looking pie. Sorry to hear about the mixup. Been there and done that. It truly is an aggravating experience not to mention embarrassing.

  18. Spoon Feast says:

    I accidentally used way too much baking soda in an Irish soda bread once. Ugh. Too bad because it looks so good! It’s an opportunity for another.

  19. KhoaSinclair says:

    Looks good at least! Hope you had a good New Year as well!

  20. Bassa's Blog says:

    He should start his own cooking blog! :) Happy New Year!

  21. wow! this looks amazing….a big lover of apple pie! :)

  22. Abra says:

    I woke up this morning thinking of you and Jade, even though we don’t know each other. I’ve been reading your blog off and on for a couple of years, marveling at how well you adapted to multiple ex-pat lives. I hope that my dream presages the arrival of good news for you, and want to let you know that you’ll continue to be in my thoughts.

  23. chef mimi says:

    Oh no! Perhaps a new creation?!

  24. Jess says:

    Oh no! And it looks like such a pretty pie too! He still gets an ‘A’ for effort- we all have a kitchen horror story of our own, at least it’s something you did together :-)

  25. NO!!!! poor guy. Pink ladies are my number one choice too. I hope he’ll make another because it looks really delicious.

  26. Karen says:

    Oh dear…and it looks so pretty. :(

Leave a Reply

