Cullen Skink Chez Moi

IMG_8196b

The last 3 weeks have been horrendous and there doesn’t seem to be any end in sight.   I won’t/can’t tell you about it but my lovely husband has brought me home to Sens and will be joining me in a week for very un-merry Christmas holidays.  I haven’t touched my camera for over 3 weeks and the food I cooked was neither interesting nor “correct”.  I am cooking and posting today in an effort to keep my sanity.  Enough said.

IMG_8166b

And isn’t this cullen skink lovely?  I think it’s better than the one I made before; more flavorful and more attractive.  Probably because this time I just did what I thought was right and mentally challenged Jamie Oliver to criticize.  The fishmonger didn’t have a full pound of smoked haddock but threw in a piece of house smoked salmon to make up the weight that was brilliant!  From now on, I will always include a little salmon.  Cullen skink doesn’t usually contain mussels but so what!

IMG_8170b

Once in West Africa, someone quoted a proverb, “You eat alone, you die alone.”  Don’t eat this alone!  Invite the neighbors, I did.  They’ll thank you.  By the way, this is easy.

IMG_8185b

Smoked Haddock, Salmon and Mussel Soup

2 tbsp butter

1 onion, halved and thinly sliced

3 large cloves of garlic, thinly sliced

1 leek, thinly sliced

1 lb potatoes, cubed

3/4 lb smoked haddock

1/4 lb smoked salmon

3 cups milk

Water

1/2 tsp black pepper

2 bay leaves

1 quart fresh mussels

Parsley, chopped

Cook the onion, garlic and leek in the butter until the onion and leek are tender.  Add the potatoes and place the whole pieces of haddock and salmon on top.  Add 1 1/2 cups of the milk, water to cover, the pepper and bay leaves, bring to a boil and simmer for about 5 minutes or until the fish begins to flake.  Remove the fish and set aside.  Continue to cook the potatoes until they are tender.

Add the rest of the milk, then bring to a boil and add the mussels.  Cover and cook until the mussels open.  Gently stir in the reserved fish, sprinkle with parsley and serve.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, English, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Cullen Skink Chez Moi

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Hi Rosemary, I’m sorry to hear that things are bad – I do hope they get much better soon!
    That cullen skink looks and sounds fab – I’m glad you are back in Sens ;-)

  2. Never heard of cullen skink before but it looks damn fine. I’ve been missing your posts… good to have you back!

  3. lolarugula says:

    This looks fabulous! I do hope things look up for you. Beautiful post, as always.

  4. I hope things start to look up for you. Lovely soup. I wish I could eat mussels as they are very tasty and this looks like a wonderful recipe. Love the quote about eating alone.

  5. AnotherDish says:

    Glad to see your post — missed them. Cooking is always the perfect medicine when things aren’t going so well for me. Looks like the same for you.

  6. jmcheney says:

    I missed your beautiful food photos & stories & hoped all was well with you. I am sorry to hear that it isn’t & hope so much it will be very much better very soon for all in your family. This dish looks divine. I will make it minus the shellfish to which I am unfortunately allergic. Best wishes & hopes.

  7. Michelle says:

    Keep cooking and taking those photos. That’s gotten me through all sorts of horrible stuff.

  8. Hi, Rosemary. Sorry the last few weeks have been horrendous. Hopefully, they will improve in short order. This is a lovely cullen skink. I really need to give this a try. Thanks for sharing. :)

  9. reggiorif says:

    I am sure that soon things will get better for you… If it helps, I have no great expectations for my Christmas neither (although our reasons may be different) ;) . Good luck. By the way, this cullen skink looks succulent.

  10. That is such a delicious dish…I haven’t made it for years…I must do it soon. Really sorry to hear that things aren’t great. Here’s wishing that things get back to good times asap.

  11. Sorry to hear something’s up, Rosemary – I’ve certainly missed your mouth-watering dishes. Cullen Skink is one of my favourites – a real treat – and your rendition looks cracking!

  12. Love Cullen Sink and often make variations of it – yours looks amazing. Sending you all good wishes for better times ahead Rosemary.

  13. Linda Duffin says:

    Can I add my sympathy and good wishes to all the other messages here? I’, sorry to hear you’ve been in the wars – I hope you’re situation improves soon.

  14. HI Rosemary, I hope things will look up for you again very soon!! What would I do without your inspiring pictures and receipes? I’d be lost!! Please keep going.
    Best wishes, Andreas

  15. Karen says:

    Your dish which I had never heard of sounds delicious. I’ve been wondering what was wrong…thought you might be traveling. I’m glad that you are in Sens as I know that is where your heart is. I hope that circumstances change and life returns to pleasurable times with your loving family soon. :)

  16. Well this is lovely. I hope things settle down soon.

  17. KhoaSinclair says:

    I NEED THIS IN MY MOUTH!

  18. redrice57 says:

    Now this looks and sounds and smells – yes I think I can even smell it from way over here it is so good! – fantastic. Thank you for reminding me of a great dish that I have not done for years – love this version!

  19. Conor Bofin says:

    Hi Rosemary, I hope things start to improve for you. Positive vibes now emanating from Dublin, towards you. Lovely Cullen Sink too.
    Stay strong,
    Conor

  20. gwynnem says:

    Sending lots of positive thoughts your way, Rosemary. Your recipe looks fabulous!

  21. nwando7 says:

    Hi dear, sorry about what you’re going through. I am praying for you. Hope you dont mind. I love cullen skink. Was in Glasgow for sometime and found out that it’s a Scottish soup. Actually went for a lesson where I was taught how to make it.

  22. Mimi says:

    I ordered Cullen skink somewhere in Scotland just because of the name. It was fabulous. Yours looks even better with the mussels. You gotta eat. Hang in there.

  23. Pingback: Giovedì 19 Dicembre 2013 | Mamma Felice

  24. kjmullally says:

    Really sorry I missed this one. Wouldn’t have to worry about left overs.

  25. Vearle Avni says:

    You are being very brave indeed…well done for keeping yourself active… I don’t know how you are managing…stay strong and hopeful, my heart goes out to you and your family…my prayers are with Jade.

  26. Pingback: Comfort Food | Louise's Lexiconology

Leave a Reply

