Lemon Pepper Chicken “Elbows”

IMG_7937b

The poultry man in the Waiblingen market cuts the tips from the chicken wings before packaging them to sell.  I always think of little elbows when I see them :)

IMG_7930b

One of the cousins posted a recipe on facebook for chicken wings seasoned with lemon, pepper and garlic that sounded easy and delicious.  I just increased the garlic and was good to go!  I served the elbows with a salad, pickled cucumber and fennel.

IMG_7958b

Lemon Pepper Chicken Wings

2lbs chicken wings

4 garlic cloves, finally chopped

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 tbsp pepper

1/2 cup lemon juice

1/4 cup olive oil

Put the chicken in a zip lock bag, then whisk the remaining ingredients in a bowl until well blended.  Pour the marinade in the zip lock bag with the chicken and squish around.   Marinate for at least 2 hours.

Remove the chicken from the bag, reserving the marinade.  Place the wings in a roasting pan, skin side down and roast in a 425 F oven for 20 minutes, turn, baste and return to the oven for a further 15 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Appetizer, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Lemon Pepper Chicken “Elbows”

  1. reggiorif says:

    I always love it when you post chicken recipes… I want ‘elbows’ too.

  2. Karen says:

    They do look like elbows and they sound delicious.

  3. I can never take chicken wings seriously…as food that is. However, these elbows are a different matter all together:)

  4. andmorefood says:

    I’m more a drumlet kind of girl, but the flavours sound amazing!

  5. I love it. Chicken elbows. Bahaha!

  6. Amanda says:

    So, this comment is related to your post a while back with the threads of red pepper. I just saw them on another blog as well and apparently they’re used a lot in China and originally from Korea and called Sil koch’u. I went straight to koreatown and they had tons of them at a very reasonable price! So glad you used them and set me on the trail. They look like saffron and taste like heaven.

  7. Amanda says:

    I should also mention what a totally cool snack these chicken elbows/wings are. I love how you serve them with pickles and fennel. Wonderful!

  8. Wow really? The recipe’s that easy? It looks great, I’m emailing it to myself ASAP! Thanks :)

  9. I always cut the tips and elbow off for stock, but now I have to rethink it. These sound delish.

  10. I love lemon pepper wings. And the garlic just brings it together for me.

  11. Love the look of these “elbows”! What a moreish and tantalizing appearance.

  12. This recipe looks delicious AND it fits the paleo autoimmune protocol (a rare thing). So, thank you! I recently started a weekly Paleo AIP Recipe Roundtable through my blog, and I would love it if you linked up this recipe. I’m trying to expand resources for the AIP community. Here’s the link: http://www.phoenixhelix.com/2014/01/15/paleo-aip-recipe-roundtable-10/

Leave a Reply

