Fennel and Cucumber Pickles

IMG_7671b

I didn’t think much about cooking today.  I knew my husband would want the leftover duck gumbo again so there was nothing to think about.   I did make a lunch of mirliton hash browns with a fried egg sprinkled with cheddar cheese that was really good  :)

IMG_7659b

After lunch, I started to vaguely worry about an aging bulb of fennel in the refrigerator and thought of a salad that I make with cucumbers that’s almost like a pickle.  The Sapelo Farms blog site had a recipe for pickled cucumbers and fennel that looked like something we would like, so I tried it.

IMG_7645b

It was easy and fun to make.  I also like making jars of things.

IMG_7683b

Remember, if you are cursed with inexactitudiphobia, push the link above and go to the website.  I made this the way I wanted to make it.

Fennel and Cucumber Pickle

1 winter cucumber, sliced

1 bulb fennel, trimmed, quartered vertically and sliced

4 small red peppers, like bird’s eye

5 whole garlic cloves, peeled

1 1/2 cups white vinegar

1/2 cup water

1 tsp fennel seeds

1 tsp coriander seeds

1 cinnamon stick, broken into pieces

1 1/2 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp salt

1 small bay leaf

1 tsp mixed peppercorns

Put the cucumber, fennel, peppers and garlic in a bowl.  Set aside.

Place the vinegar, water, fennel seeds, coriander seeds, cinnamon stick, sugar, salt, bay leaf and peppercorns in a pot, bring to a boil, cool for 5 minutes, then pour over the top of the cucumber mix.  Place in a tight fitting container and refrigerate for at least 4 hours; overnight is better.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Fennel and Cucumber Pickles

  1. I really should start eating as pretty as you do. Such beautiful pictures, as always. From a fellow inexactitudiphile :)

  2. Tessa says:

    I’ve been looking for a quick pickle to serve after the Thanksgiving holiday with leftover turkey sandwiches. Looks great.

  3. Mad Dog says:

    I’d want that gumbo again too!
    Great pickles ;-)

  4. Amanda says:

    What a great pickle recipe. I’ve actually never pickled anything and this looks so easy and delicious I may actually do it tonight! Thanks for sharing!

  5. I’ve been thinking of trying to grow fennel and this would be great so it doesn’t go all to waste.

  6. I think a lot of us have the same phobia – love the idea of pickled fennel!

  7. Conor Bofin says:

    Great, as ever, Rosemary.

  8. I think I too suffer from this phobia. I will have to give your version a try as it looks so beautiful in the jars. Have a super week. BAM

  9. Pingback: Lemon Pepper Chicken “Elbows” | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

