Shrimp Clemenceau a Ma façon

IMG_7546b

I like “Loosiana” cuisine and I like the way David Bridges does it!  I first “met” Dave when I stumbled upon his blog entitled Rooter to the Tooter with his delicious, incomparable, innovative take on Louisiana cookery.  His Sweetbread and Crawfish Terrine was genius and delectable.  I “poached” the recipe and made it in France, eliciting rhapsodies from the Parrets and amazement that the recipe was American :)  Bummer that he no longer blogs; family life and his job as the Chef at the Upperline restaurant in New Orleans doesn’t leave him much free time.  However, his blog and recipes are still available on line and are more than worth a look.  Stay tuned, a cookbook could be on the way.

IMG_7420b

I was pleasantly surprised to hear from Dave after my post of  Mirliton Creole.  He suggested that I try a famous New Orleans recipe, Shrimp Clemenceau, using mirliton instead of the usual fried potatoes.  Knowing that I don’t necessarily follow recipes line by line, Dave gave me a broad outline of ingredients and methods.  I didn’t have any peas but did have some pretty, baby asparagus that I thought would do the trick.  They did.

IMG_7424b

This is a fairly simple recipe but perhaps a little fiddly.  I first sprinkled my shrimp with Emeril’s essence and then set them aside to take on color and personality.

I then fried up my mirliton a la hash browns.

IMG_7455b

I put the mirliton cubes to drain on paper towels while I quick sauteed the mushrooms and asparagus.  I really hate this stove!  It’s small, primitive and doesn’t heat evenly.  

IMG_7472b

Annoyed, I poured myself a large Cremant, took a double gulp, adjusted my attitude and continued in a “whatever” frame of mind ;)

IMG_7484bb

This was so worth making!  I liked the fact that mirliton could be hash-browned.  A lovely poached egg on top of mirliton hash browns, topped with piperade could be in the future. Thank you Dave.  This recipe can also be made with chicken chunks in place of the shrimp.

IMG_7562b

Snow flurries yesterday and am trying to adjust myself again to the winter light.  Cats are sitting on the heating vents :D

Shrimp Clemenceau

1 lb large shrimp, shelled and deveined

1 tbsp Emeril’s essence or any other kind of creole seasoning

1 tbsp butter

2 tbsp olive oil

3 mirliton/chayote, peeled, seeded and cut into cubes

3 large cloves of garlic, minced

Salt and pepper

2 tbsp butter

1/2 lb mushrooms, sliced

1 cup baby asparagus, cut into half inch slices

1 tbsp butter

Toss the shrimp with the Emeril’s essence and set aside.  Brown the mirliton in the butter and olive oil.  Add the minced garlic, season with salt and pepper, then continue to cook for 1 minute.  Drain the mirliton on paper towels, then put into the bottom of a wok or large frying pan and set aside.

Melt 2 tbsp butter in a clean saute pan, add the mushrooms and saute until the mushrooms start to release their liquids.  Add the baby asparagus and continue to saute for about 2 minutes.  Season with salt and pepper, then add the mushrooms and asparagus to the wok.

Melt the remaining 1 tbsp of butter in a clean frying pan, add the shrimp and quick saute for 2 minutes.  Add the shrimp to the wok.

Reheat all ingredients in the wok for about 3-5 minutes and serve.

Wine suggestion:  Riesling.  Screw top.

 

     

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Shrimp Clemenceau a Ma façon

  1. trixpin says:

    What a lovely looking dish. I don’t often use asparagus, and have NEVER used mirliton – I don’t think I could find it round here. I’ll just have to admire the beautiful photos and be envious!

  2. Have never even heard of Mirliton – now I need ot hunt some down as I’m curious. Lovely looking dish and the cremant whilst cooking sounds perfect :)

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Yum – you made me want to listen to the soundtrack of “The Big Easy” ;-)

  4. This looks so, so good! And like others here, I have never used Mirliton. I need to look for it as I love all squashes. Thanks for the inspiration!

  5. Amanda says:

    Cool post! Love the music while reading it. Wow a chayote in a dish that isn’t Latin. Very cool. I can so do this!

  6. Thank you Amanda. Haitians use them and maybe Asians.

  7. I love recipes from that area. The flavours are fabulous.

  8. Karen says:

    What a nice dish using the mirlitron instead of potatoes…clever girl. :)

  9. Laura says:

    Great idea, hash brown mirliton – will definitely try when I’m back in Miami (December).

  10. Nice idea…I am now a new devotee of mirliton and Loosiana cuisine:)

  11. nusrat2010 says:

    Love your buttery shrimp dish. Anything that has something to do with Shrimp is a surefire winner to me.
    Nice, warm, cozy pictures :)

  12. Raymund says:

    Love to see some chayote here, Its a popular ingredient in the Philippine cuisine. Now I have some fresh ideas on where to use them

Leave a Reply

