Magret de Canard with Walnut Oregano Dressing

IMG_7342b

On this last visit to France, I loaded up the cooler with good quality magret duck breasts. In addition, I stopped by Jean Louis’ stall and threw in some superior quality duck breasts from his farm.  A little more expensive, but I believe worth it.

IMG_7314b

Today’s dressing for the duck is inspired by a chicken recipe from Bord Bia, the Irish Food Board.  I didn’t have any fresh coriander but substituted fresh oregano because I have lots of that and it worked out fine.  I think the dressing would be wonderful with other meats as well.

IMG_7247b

Original recipe: http://qualitykitchen.bordbia.ie/recipes/pan-fried-chicken-with-walnut-lemon-dressing/#

IMG_7266b

I lightly roasted some fading cherry tomatoes and sauteed some spinach with shallots to accompany the duck.

Magret de Canard with Walnut Oregano Dressing

1/4 cup toasted walnuts

2 scallions, chopped

2 cloves garlic

Juice of 1/2 lemon

1 tsp cumin

1 tbsp fresh oregano

1/4 cup olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

2 duck breasts, fat scored and seasoned with salt and pepper.

Pulse the walnuts, scallions, garlic, lemon juice, cumin, oregano, olive oil, salt and pepper in a blender until smooth.  Refrigerate until ready to use.

Sear the duck breasts on the fat side for 8 minutes, turn and continue to cook for 6 minutes.  Allow to rest, slice and serve with the dressing.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Irish, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Magret de Canard with Walnut Oregano Dressing

  1. Serena says:

    Oregano dressing sounds great!

  2. Gorgeous photos. Also, I’m surprised at how accessible this recipe seems even for weeknight dinners. YUM!

  3. Looking at that duck is making me hungry. I think it’s lacking a little from my diet lately..

  4. andmorefood says:

    Love the photos, and that shot of the crisped skin!

  5. Stunning and so very perfectly cooked!

  6. Delicious! I really wish there was a local farm that provided duck meat. I usually have to find it at stores and who knows where they came from.

  7. Mad Dog says:

    Nice work – I think I’d want to fill the car with food and hitch up a trailer for wine ;-)

  8. Delicious and perfectly cooked. Beautiful food.

  9. KhoaSinclair says:

    Yum, looks great! The duck is cooked to perfection!

  10. Conor Bofin says:

    I get so jealous when I see you posting those lovely French duck breasts. Nice to see an Irish recipe going along with them this time.
    Best,
    Conor

  11. vinrgyvin says:

    Reblogged this on Vinrgy and commented:
    Such an amazing tasty looking dish, I may try this meal tonight.
    Thank you

  12. Pingback: Orange and Chili Duck with Stir Fried Vegetables and Noodles | Chica Andaluza

Leave a Reply

