Mirliton Creole

IMG_6998b

Mirliton or chayote is an attractive, pale green squash that I first heard of and had in Haiti. Prepared roasted, boiled, sauteed or stuffed, even squash haters and children like this mild tasting vegetable.

IMG_6974b

Feeling a bit run down and sluggish, I thought that a quick saute of mirliton would see me right, washing away the residue of fast food grease and food “product” in my digestive system.  It would also taste good.  I like mirliton a lot.  No meat, Vegetarians!  Side dish Carnivores :)

IMG_7021b

This is the pommelo season!  The best ones I’ve ever had are imported to France from China, but since I bought this one at the Ramstein commissary and we Americans, along with the English I believe, are not obliged to label produce with the country of origin, I don’t know where it came from.  And really, anybody loving that fast food doesn’t really care :D  I can’t help myself.  Anyway, it was a good pommelo.  “Probably GM”, someone softly ranted.

IMG_7039b

In keeping with the detoxification theme, I ate a whole pommelo tossed with mint leaves. Greed or need?  You decide :)

IMG_7068b

Mirliton Creole

2 scallions, thinly sliced

2 large garlic cloves, thinly sliced

1 red bell pepper, diced

2 tbsp olive oil

Fresh oregano, leaves from 2 sprigs

2 mirliton, halved, peeled, seeded and cut into chunks

1 tsp Creole seasoning (Emeril’s essence or whatever)

2 tbsp water

Saute the scallions, garlic and bell pepper in the olive oil until the pepper is crisp tender. Add the oregano and mirliton, then saute for an additional 2 minutes.  Stir in the Creole seasoning and water, cover and steam for 15 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Haitian, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Mirliton Creole

  1. Darya says:

    I had no idea a chayotte could also be called “mirliton” ! It can also be called “chouchou”, which I think is cute! I always thought “mirliton” was an almond pâtisserie from Normandy :)
    Oh well, I love learning! And it looks delicious.

  2. Jon says:

    Looks great! I cook a lot of chayote here in Mex of course. the cazuela is a nice touch. Not vegetarian but the same type of preparation with some shrimp thrown in is tasty! Additional work but you can steam them, carve out the flesh and stuff the shells with the creole mix and bake or broil. Christophine for our eastern antillean friends in Guad and Martinique.

  3. Davebr says:

    There is a classic dish here in New Orleans called Shrimp or Chicken Clemenceau. I often substitute Mirliton for the potatoes makes it a bit healthier. You could probably have both for a little more luxury. Saute Mirliton with mushrooms with butter. When 1/2 cooked add the shrimp. When cooked add peas, garlic, flat leaf parsley, thyme and some of your Emeril seasoning. If it looks a touch too dry add another pat of butter.
    Substitute Mirliton for most potato dishes like chowder.
    My Sister in Law makes an incredible sweet Mirliton pie.

  4. Mad Dog says:

    That sounds good – the mirliton looks like the head of one of the characters from Sesame Street ;-)

  5. I have wondered what those little green things were called. Until now the only way I’ve seen them is in photos that pose them with faces on them. Cute but hadn’t a clue what they were.

  6. hmmm that looks yummy!

  7. Never heard of seen that, will have a look out. The Pommelo mint salad looks so fresh and delicious.

  8. Sounds good to me…..there sounds like there was a bit of grease to wash away:)

  9. Glad to know what to do with Chayotes now. Often see them them in our Dallas stores. Thanks for posting this great recipe, I will definitely try it now.

  10. Bassa's Blog says:

    I love your phrase “Side dish Carnivores”. Beautiful food!

  11. Pingback: Shrimp Clemenceau a Ma façon | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

