Ramstein U.S. Air Force Base

IMG_6949b

My husband desperately wanted me to come on a business trip with him to Ramstein U.S. Air Force Base because he thought that I would enjoy the Mega shopping, he likes me to go places with him and he wanted me to see a different part of Germany.

The Michelle Obama suite in the hotel was nice with a kitchen, sitting room, large bedroom and bath.  The enormous picture window in the 9th floor sitting room looked out onto the military landing strip packed with green colored planes, coming and going and doing whatever military planes do.

IMG_6939b

I have to say that I was a little shocked at the food choices connected with the hotel/mall. True, I didn’t expect much, but I did think that the hotel would have it’s own restaurant like the military holiday hotel in Garmisch and that breakfast would at least be safe. Wrong again. There was no hotel restaurant and as you stepped out of the elevator, breakfast choices were Cinnabon or a German pastry shop with really large pieces of bread or pastry. Lunch and dinner were provided by the fast food chains Taco Bell, Johnny Rocket hamburger place, Burger King, Manchu Wok, Capt D’s, Frank’s hot dogs, Subway, Anthony’s Pizza, Baskin Robbins, Chili’s Too and Romano’s Macaroni Grill.

IMG_6931b

Skipping breakfast, we chose Taco Bell for our first lunch because there was lettuce and tomatoes in the tacos.  The purported vegetables at the Manchu Wok looked grey and we didn’t see any other vegetables besides french fries anywhere else.  There were long lines in front of all of these concessions and we could not understand it.  Bleah!

For dinner, we went to Romano’s Macaroni Grill and had a, hopefully, forgettable chicken marsala and a gummy risotto with a pan fried pork chop.  To be fair, the Chianti mustard sauce on the pork chop was okay and I think I will make something like that soon.  I lacked enthusiasm for picture taking of this meal.

We remember Chili’s when it first opened in Dallas, Texas.  My husband was attending graduate school at the University there.  This was before it became a chain and the food was good with a nice spin on Mexican cuisine.  That’s why we ended up there for our last night’s dinner.  Having very little appetite, we ordered 3 appetizers.  The first was an oddly colored “queso” with granules of beef flavored soy product.  No, they didn’t say that, but that’s what it was.  It didn’t taste good and we shoved that baby aside! (top picture)

IMG_6956b

The Southwestern “eggrolls” were deep fried at some point in the day and then reheated before serving.  Of course the spinach immediately gave up the ghost along with whatever else that might have been nutritious.  The avocado ranch sauce was……   I’m speechless.

IMG_6961b

The cup of chili was a soupy, Campbell’s tomato soup concoction with maybe three chunks of beef product inside.  We had to wait over 30 minutes for a table!!!  This kind of food can’t be good for people, and certainly not for our military!  They should be ordered to eat at home!

IMG_6952b

Before our meal, we were given tortilla chips with some sauce/salsa and we should have stopped there.  After 2 1/2 days, we don’t feel that great.  In fact, we feel poisoned!

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Food and Wine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Ramstein U.S. Air Force Base

  1. jmcheney says:

    All of us who read this blog should forward it to our Congresspersons & Senators. This is a crime against the health & readiness of our brave Servicepeople, which I guess they have had to endure since packaged ersatz food came in.-And now privatized Undead Food– How have they managed to crawl along “on their stomachs” a Armies are said to do?? Oh well, as my X told me long ago about his expriences at boot camp (at Fort Hood!!). They had to forage, dig up & eat grubs! He loved the food when he finally got to Germany (on the town).

    • I’m sure he did! This really is garbage and should be outlawed in our country! I haven’t really been paying attention, I guess. When we go home, we eat at a decent restaurant or I cook. No wonder Jamie Oliver is outraged!

  2. Oh this is wrong on so many levels. What a shame you couldn’t find decent food anywhere. Chili’s has gone downhill as a chain in the last several years. Not that it was stellar to begin with.

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Oh dear, that sounds terrible, but good to go on adventure ;-)
    I visited a couple of American bases in the UK back in the 80′s and just through the gate it was like stepping into America. I even got to see the Blackbird before it officially existed!

  4. All I can say is that your a brave woman to go to a Taco Bell anywhere! At least Johnny Rocket’s uses real cheese and veggies on their burgers, though food court choices are never a fine dining experience, IMO. :)

  5. Trish says:

    Americans truly settle for crap food – I am so disappointed by it. Appleby’s was my mom’s restaurant of choice when we visited her. I ended up sticking to the hamburger as the only safe option. The entrees were so loaded with salt and fat, and too cheesy even for this cheese enthusiast.

  6. AnotherDish says:

    I hate all of this. This is not what I want to see in Germany. I went to school in Germany for a year, and didn’t see any of this — looks like things have changed in some areas. I lived in Emden, Ostfriesland (beautiful part of the country!), where hopefully these chains haven’t moved in.

    • Burger King seems to be the favorite in Germany. There is also Mcdonald’s. Fast food franchises are big in Europe, especially among the young. Sooner than you or I would think, like Americans, the Europeans won’t remember what real food tastes like nor will they insist on eating it. Hopefully, I’ll have passed on by then :D

  7. Dear God, that’s frightening food. How much of the Western world is eating that shit? A pretty high percentage is my guess.

  8. Pingback: Big MacTuna | Cooking in Sens

  9. I crawled over the floor from laughing with that video, especially the translation of Butterfly seems like a very dangerous skin condition :-)

  10. Dear good lord… that sounds like a not-very-delicious time in Ramstein

  11. Eek – it’s a worry isn’t it that so many people eat this regularly and think it’s totally acceptable food. Am still laughing at the video of words – hilarious :)

Leave a Reply

