Toulouse Sausages with Cranberry Chutney

IMG_6914b

Whether in London or Dublin on vacation, missing France, at some point we’d always turn up like a bad centime at the Cafe Rouge, a chain restaurant with a French theme. They serve cremant and correct French Bistro cuisine.  You could take M. Parret there and he might talk about the butter but otherwise I think he would be satisfied.  I always ordered the Toulouse sausages with mashed potatoes and I thought about these when I made my Soupe de Campagne, promising myself a treat of the sausages and mash in the near future. Quelle coincidence!  Just before I left Sens, I received a Jamie Oliver e-mail with a gorgeous looking recipe for bangers, mash and cranberry chutney.  Brilliant again, Jamie!   However, the couple of times I’ve tried bangers they tasted of some kind of cereal with essence of meat.  Beyond bland.  Toulouse to the rescue!  I brought back loads of the sausages from Sens :)

IMG_6850b

Although I’ve seen recipes that feature fried sage leaves as a garnish, this is the first time I’ve fried them.  Very cool but I think I need practice.  And I will.  These were good!

IMG_6861b

Jamie’s recipe called for fresh or frozen cranberries which I didn’t have.  I soaked some dried “cranraisins” in hot water and voila!

IMG_6898b

The chutney was so good!  So good that my husband, who is insisting on an American traditional turkey, dressing, blah, blah, blah dinner for this year’s Christmas celebration, agreed that I could substitute the chutney for the usual canned, Ocean Spray cranberry sauce.  Thanks be to God and all the Saints!

I was just thinking today about how much I love the way Jamie measures; a glug of this, a knob of that, a splash of this, a handful of that.  But you know, when I was first learning to cook, I would not have adored him.  In fact, it would have been like, “What the f*** does he mean, the imprecise A*****e!”  While learning, I was often stressed :D  Remembering those days, I have adjusted the recipe to approximate, “normal” measures.  And for those who would like to see the exact recipe, go here Jamie Bangers with Mash.

IMG_6869b

We’re off to some military base in Ramstein, Germany tomorrow for a couple of days. We’ll be staying at a hotel on-base, supposedly in the “Michelle Obama Suite” which makes me wonder where she ate.  The base’s long list of  “restaurants” seem to be made up entirely of fast food.  Wait for the pictures!

Toulouse Sausages with Cranberry Chutney

2 tbsp olive oil

12 fresh sage leaves

2 purple onions, sliced into thin wedges

1 cup of cranraisins, soaked in hot water for 20 minutes and drained

1 cinnamon stick, broken in half

2-3 tbsp water

1 tsp fresh ginger, grated

3 tbsp balsamic vinegar

6 Toulouse sausages

Potatoes mashed with leeks and butter

Flash fry the sage leaves in the olive oil, then remove and set aside.  Add the onions to the pan and saute for 5 minutes.  Add the cranraisins, cinnamon and water, then simmer for 15 minutes.  Add the ginger and vinegar, then cook for about 1 minute.  Serve warm or room temperature.

Brown the sausages in a dry pan.  Serve on top of the mash, sprinkled with sage leaves and a side of the chutney.

Beverage suggestion:  Beer or Corbieres red table wine

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, English, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Toulouse Sausages with Cranberry Chutney

  1. canalcook says:

    Didn’t know we have Cafe Rouge in Dublin

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Toulouse are very good, though I graduated to Napoli as my favourite for sausage and mash – they have chilli and garlic with a tiny hint of anise. That’s what I’m having for supper tonight ;-)

  3. Lovely and I love the look of that chutney – think that will be making an appearance here over Christmas. Hope you manage to get some decent food while you are away :)

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    The cheeky chap is very talented. This looks excellent indeed.

  5. Karen says:

    Sausages and mash…love it.

  6. Pingback: Big MacTuna | Cooking in Sens

  7. Pingback: Big MacTuna | Cooking in Sens

  8. Raymund says:

    That chutney sounds like a perfect combination to any savoury meat.

Leave a Reply

