Tarte Boudin Noir

IMG_6829b

Yesterday, while loitering around town, drinking coffee and tasting chocolates, I peeked into the display window at the new traiteur, The Village Gourmand.   On display was an appetizing tarte of black pudding,  so I bought it, knowing that the chef/owner has an affinity for dishes made from “the nasty bits.”

IMG_6834b

A delicious savory pastry with a layer of apple sauce, topped with sliced, perfectly seasoned, blood pudding (boudin noir), it was so good that I had to go back for more today to have one more taste and to take a picture as a souvenir of high times in Sens.

Wine suggestion:  St. Veran

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Food and Wine, French and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Tarte Boudin Noir

  1. Darya says:

    Oh I adore boudin noir, and my boyfriend hates it! My butcher makes several different kinds during the winter, and I always want to buy some, but then I can’t imagine preparing it only for myself! Perhaps a mini-tarte like this delicious-looking one would be a solution! Now to get the butcher to sell me a small piece… small being a word he doesn’t seem to understand :)

  2. Oh my that looks so good. We have black pudding here in England but it’s not a good as the French Boudin Noir or the Spanish Morcilla :(

  3. Spoon Feast says:

    That looks fabulous, Rosemary!

  4. Mad Dog says:

    That looks like very good Boudin Noir.
    I’m very luckiy, I can get several types of good Spanish Morcilla, Boudin Noir and Clonakilty (Irish) from my butcher. I’m spoilt for choice ;-)

  5. Tessa says:

    I’ve never tried boudin noir before. Looks delicious!

  6. littlemissnihilist says:

    Oh, how I LOVE blood pudding..

  7. charr00 says:

    Delicious! Now I’m off to hunt some down….

  8. Oh le boudin noir! I miss all that nice French food!
    I did not know which articles to comment! Lovely website, I love your pictures of the preps!

Leave a Reply

