Pork Roasted with Apples, Pears and Parsnips

IMG_6476b

The new French Saveurs magazine has some delicious recipes this month inspired, as always,  by the season and what’s available in the market.  I chose to make the pork roast with apples, pears and parsnips to share with M. Parret, Thierry, Ariel and our neighbors from down the street, Laurent and Helene.  Of course I fiddled with the recipe.  That’s what recipes are for and there was NO WAY I was cooking a 3lb roast for a mere 35 minutes!  However, the unsliced roast picture did look good.  I don’t think they dared sliced it.  Although I love most meats rare, pork is not one of them.  Browned on the outside, juicy but not pink on the inside is the way I like it.  A chacun son gout.

IMG_6384b

This roast was perfect for my large, green Emile Henry tajine, brought back from Stuttgart just for an occasion like this.

IMG_6401b

I filled the bottom with fruit, vegetables and herbs, browned the roast plunked it on top, then put it in the oven for a reasonable amount of time.  I love roasting like this!

IMG_6374b

When I was making shrimp cocktails for our entrees, the Devil whispered, “Taste that American Sauce.”  I tasted it (secret Big Mac sauce?) and assumed that if Heinz was selling it in France to French people, they probably like it.  So I mixed it in with the shrimp, chopped spring onion and avocado.  Right again!  I saw more than one person mopping up the sauce with a morsel of baguette :D   My apologies to Cottage Grove House and Gourmet Wog.

IMG_6438b

We began, as we often do, with several glasses of Bourgogne Crement and an appetizer of pate on crisp toasts.

IMG_6430bb

Thierry and Ariel are the bringers of all good things, like superior balsamic vinegar.

IMG_6568b

In addition, they are the epitome of congeniality. 

IMG_6456b

And they have superior taste in wines.

IMG_6464b

I stubbornly insisted on shooting these pictures manually in artificial light.  Sometimes I live and don’t learn :)  I was forced to acquaint myself to the heretofore unknown and therefore unused adjustment in photoshop called “hue and saturation.”  I never want to have to use them again :(  

IMG_6441b

The weather was inclement so we were forced to eat inside, but I do like M. Parret’s outdoor kitchen.  It’s cozy with a big, round table.

IMG_6492b

It was by no means easy, but I did manage to get a good picture of M. Parret while he was sitting still, laughing and in one of his favorite shirts :)

IMG_6519b

He made a wonderful salad with vinaigrette and served another fantastic tray of cheeses. Fans of Cote du Rhone will be happy to see and would have been happier to taste the Cote-Rotie we had with the cheese.  Cote-Rotie is an “appelation d’origine controlee” from the northern Rhone wine region of France.  More!

IMG_6547b

For dessert M. Parret made both an plum glazed apple tarte and his special custard or “creme”.

IMG_6559b

A 10 year old Portuguese port was served with the dessert.  Perfect.  We also had coffee with Belgian chocolates :)  Finally, at about six o’clock, having enjoyed a wonderful Sunday lunch with marvelous people, I loaded up my wagon and went home.

IMG_6576b

Because I prefer to cook in my own kitchen but eat the meal at M. Parret’s, I bought a little wagon to carry the hot courses to his house that is so close that it would be ridiculous to take the car.  I wish I could have found a red one :)

Oh, I almost forgot.  You’ll probably want the pork roast recipe.

Pork Roasted with Apples, Pears and Parsnips

2 apples, cored and cut into 6 wedges (a corer/wedger tool is good)

2 pears, cored and cut into 6 wedges

4 parsnips, peeled and cut into chunks

1 large onion, cut into 8 wedges

2 cloves garlic, unpeeled

2 tbsp lemon juice

2 tbsp sugar

2 tbsp butter, diced small

3lb rolled roast pork

Salt and pepper

5 thyme sprigs

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp butter

Mix the apples, pears, parsnips, onion, garlic, lemon juice, sugar and butter together in a large bowl, then place in the bottom of a tajine or roasting pan.

Season the roast with salt and pepper, then rub all over with one thyme sprig.  Melt the butter with the olive oil in a large frying pan, brown the roast, place on top of the fruit and vegetables, scatter the remaining thyme sprigs around, then cook in a 400 F oven for 1 1/2 hours, stirring the fruit and vegetables a couple of times.

 

      

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Pork Roasted with Apples, Pears and Parsnips

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I’ve never seen such a big tajine! What a feast ;-)

  2. Gorgeous! You know I’ve never seen that sauce in the US, unless it is the secret Big Mac sauce but on the cruise they served that as the cocktail sauce for prawns. I prefer the American cocktail sauce but it’s definitely different across the pond! :)

  3. This looks delightful! I’m glad you didn’t cook for just 35 minutes. That sounds like beyond-raw pork.

  4. What a perfect, perfect lunch! My mum told me she made parsnip and apple soup today and then I saw your gorgeous recipe – I think I need to make something with parsnips and apples soon :)

  5. Conor Bofin says:

    I’m with you on the pork roasting. Not worth taking risks. Another lovely post Rosemary. Deep envy of the wine as my stocks dwindle over here.

  6. Did you cover your dish in the oven? I know a tajine is a 2 part dish but I realize you could just use the base. I’m cooking this right now – just popped it into the oven.

  7. Cote Rotie is amongst my all time favourite wines. Just a fantastic lunch…and quite right to take the pictures in existing light…so much better than flash.

  8. Hi Rosemary,
    I enjoy following your blog…great recipes and photos! This evening I prepared your roasted pork recipe with some modifications for a 1.5 pound roast. Roasting the pork on a bed of pears and onions in the tagine made for a very moist and flavorful dish. I recently started my own food blog at http://www.cucinadipoppiti.com and hope that you will check it out.
    Best,
    Susan

  9. Raymund says:

    Pork and apples are such a perfect combination. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

