Butter Roasted Duck Legs with Brussel Sprouts

IMG_6341b

Annashortcakes is a blog I follow and I am always interested to see her new posts.  The other day she had an unique recipe for mustard marinated and grilled brussel sprouts.  I meant to duplicate the recipe to the letter but I didn’t, so please visit her blog.

IMG_6282b

Some days I just can’t be bothered.  Today was a day like that.  I had to go to coffee in the morning, then the marché, then the tailor, then the computer store and by the time I started cooking, I had lost interest.  Jade thought I should take pictures anyway.  So that’s why.

IMG_6321b

I placed the duck legs on the cutting board and just shook on some salt, pepper, piment d’espelette, like whatever, put some butter in the pan and roasted them with rosemary sprigs until they were done.  Good but no glamour.  I did put some leftover plum sauce on Jade’s portion.

Butter Roasted Duck Legs with Brussel Sprouts

2 duck legs

Salt and pepper

Piment d’espelette

2 sprigs rosemary

2 tbsp butter

1/2 lb brussel sprouts, halved

1 large garlic clove, sliced

1 tbsp whole grain mustard

Salt and pepper

1 1/2 tbsp olive oil

4 cherry tomatoes, halved

Season the duck legs with salt, pepper and piment d’espelette.  Preheat the oven to 350 F and melt the butter in a baking pan.  Add the rosemary sprigs and duck legs to the pan skin side down, then roast for 30 minutes.  Turn the legs skin side up and continue to roast for another 30 minutes.  Pour off the accumulated fat and then roast for a final 30 minutes.

Mix the brussel sprouts, garlic, mustard, salt and pepper together.  Heat the olive oil in a frying pan, then add the brussel sprouts and pan roast until brown and tender.  Add the tomatoes, and cook covered for about 1 – 2  minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Butter Roasted Duck Legs with Brussel Sprouts

  1. Looks delicious! I do not see duck legs only often in the store. I am certain this would be lovely and romantic for a dinner for 2.

  2. Raymund says:

    Ohhh those duck legs looks so good!

  3. chefconnie says:

    Great. The duck legs at Whole Foods looked yummy…food for thought.

  4. Mad Dog says:

    You can’t beat duck. On occasional very good days, the butcher sells me duck legs for about 90p each – you can’t beat a good butcher either ;-)

  5. redrice57 says:

    This is my idea of heaven on a plate…brilliant!

  6. I bought some duck legs yesterday and I will be popping back here for inspiration from all your lovely duck recipes :)

  7. I’ve always wanted to try to cook duck, but I never dared to… Although this looks too yummy to resist..

  8. charr00 says:

    Oh my…how tasty! Must try!

  9. andmorefood says:

    it looks utterly delicious for something you couldn’t be bothered with!

  10. Hell yeah. That is my kinda food hands down!!! Love it.

  11. Amanda says:

    Ahh duck legs. You tempt me! Yum!

  12. Sometimes a necessary fast turnaround in the kitchen leads to interesting dishes. Looks good. I would enjoy sitting at your table.

Leave a Reply

