Soupe de Campagne aux Saucisses Toulouse

IMG_6033bb

Keeping up with family on facebook as many of us do, I saw a recipe for Zuppa Toscana posted by Sue Kestler Mullally, with inspiration from a restaurant in the U.S. called Olive Garden.  It really looked good and I wanted to make it or at least, knowing how I am, something like it!  I made something like it.

IMG_6003b

Although I can find Italian sausages here in Sens, I saw some very fine Toulouse sausages in the market and couldn’t resist.  Today was the big farmers’ market day in Sens and they had some very nice products!  Keeping the same idea for a soup with a potato base, I allowed myself to be further inspired by the beauty of the market produce.  I bought lovely blette or French chard, fresh thyme, parsley and beautiful, little red potatoes, butter and cream from the cheese stall, pungent garlic and onions from our favorite vegetable stand, and a jar of local honey for just because.

IMG_6062b

Absolutely fabulous!

French Country Soup with Toulouse Sausages

6 Toulouse sausages

1/2 cup lardons

2 tbsp butter

1 onion, chopped

4 -6 garlic cloves, chopped

1 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped

1 tbsp fresh thyme leaves

1 lb potatoes, coarsely cubed

4 cups chicken broth

Salt and pepper

2 large handfuls of chard, chopped

1 cup heavy cream

In a non stick pan, brown the sausages, then slice in half vertically and cut into chunks.  Set aside.  Wipe out the pan with a paper towel, add the lardons and cook until it begans to brown.  Add the butter, onion and garlic, then saute until the onions soften, then pour into a  soup pot with the potatoes, broth, salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil, then simmer for 20 minutes.  Add the sausage chunks and continue to simmer for 10 minutes.  Stir in the chard until wilted, then add the cream and cook until just hot.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Soupe de Campagne aux Saucisses Toulouse

  1. Pingback: Soupe de Campagne aux Saucisses Toulouse | The Kims

  2. Rist says:

    looks delicious! I want to eat..

  3. Just in time for dinner ! Thanks for the idea!

  4. Mad Dog says:

    It’s nearly lunchtime here – I could eat that and my butcher does sell very good Toulouse sausages ;-)

  5. Nancy says:

    Love your version of an “American” restaurant classic. I also make it, putting my own spin on the recipe. It’s such a hearty and flavorful soup…a meal in a bowl!

  6. Tessa says:

    Great looking soup!

  7. Amanda says:

    This looks great! There’s nothing like a hearty soup with a little bit of sausage in it!

  8. And I shall be making this, my friend!

  9. I am certain I would love this! :) Looks great!

  10. Looks great and it’s becoming soup weather. Definitely need to give this a try. :)

  11. Michelle says:

    I actually don’t think that is much “like” anything that’s ever been seen at an Olive Garden. Thank god for that. :) Love the bottom photo. So pretty.

  12. Properly rustic and filling. That looks my kind of soup ;)

  13. kate magee says:

    I love a good hearty soup in the fall & winter and this looks like a perfect recipe to try out in the next few weeks. Thanks for sharing!

  14. KhoaSinclair says:

    My mouth is watering looking at this.

  15. I love soups ! It looks yummmmyy !

  16. Pingback: A Taste of Sunshine… | tea & tamarind

  17. Pingback: #RECIPE - Soupe de Campagne aux Saucisses Toulo...

  18. charr00 says:

    Must try! Too tasty to ignore….a shopping I must go!

  19. Raymund says:

    That soup looks delicious!

  20. A Facebook friend of ours posted a very similar recipe based on the Olive Garden soup so we got his permission to put it on our blog! We haven’t been able to source the sausages yet here in Cornwall:-(

Leave a Reply

