Magret de Canard aux Prunes

IMG_6002b Before I left Germany, I saw duck with plum sauce on the internet.  I can’t remember who made it but whoever you are, thanks for the inspiration. IMG_5953b My husband went back to Germany after breakfast, so I just made enough for Jade and myself, using just 4 plums, which made a good amount of sauce!  Although I have to admit that I didn’t spend a lot of time thinking about how I would make the sauce, it turned out surprisingly good; not too sweet and easy to make.  You can season the duck breast with just salt and pepper or make a paste of herbs with a little olive oil and slather on, allowing it to rest for about an hour or so before cooking.  I bought my duck breasts with the herbs already slathered.  I’m in France now :D IMG_5981b I served the duck with fried potatoes for Jade and a mache salad for me.  I have to go to a ball on November 9th in a dress that still fits, but Jade and M. Parret will not suffer, nor do I intend to, disproportionately :)

Duck Breasts with Plum Sauce

2 duck breasts, fat scored, seasoned with salt and pepper or a mixed herb paste

4 plums, stoned and coarsely diced

1 cup water

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup red wine

1 tbsp cornstarch

2 tbsp water

Bring the plums, cup of water, sugar and red wine to a boil, then simmer for 10 minutes. Mix the 2 tbsp water together with the cornstarch and add to the plum mixture.  Continue to cook and stir for about 2 minutes.  Remove from the flame but keep warm. Sear the duck breasts on the fat side for about 6 minutes, empty the pan of the fat, turn the duck breasts over, then sear the other side for about 4-5 minutes until perfectly rare. Remove from the pan and allow to rest on a cutting board for 5 minutes.  Slice and serve with the plum sauce.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Fruit, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Magret de Canard aux Prunes

  1. Yum! I just had lunch but now I think I need another snack as I can just about smell the duck through my screen

  2. andmorefood says:

    this looks great! plum sauce also has its place in chinese cooking, with a good amount of it providing some tang to duck and goose, not very different from this!

  3. That duck looks bloody delicious.

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Wow, we both posted Magret on the same day! I think mine was French too – most of the produce on that stall in the Boqueria is from France.
    Nice sauce – a friend of mine makes damson ketchup, which is probably similar ;-)

  5. Tessa says:

    That duck is cooked perfect! And that sauce looks divine!

  6. Havent seen a freshl prune for a long time! All had dried ones before.

  7. KhoaSinclair says:

    It looks so good! Too bad I haven’t touched my stove in months…I’ll have to bribe my sister to try it out!

  8. magret et prunes !… quelle belle combinaison d’ingrédients ! ;)

  9. Conor Bofin says:

    That was me! How could you forget me so easily. You did do a far better job of cooking the duck. I love it just pink as you have it.
    Best,
    Conor

  10. Arlene Poma says:

    I would love to try your recipe! All my life, I’ve had duck from a Chinatown (San Francisco) window or a local Chinese restaurant menu. Never bothered to cook it at home. I guess it’s because I’d have to find a specialty butcher?

  11. Amanda says:

    I’m pretty sure it was Conor Bofin who had that recipe, only because I wanted to make the same thing! How gorgeous yours turned out! Duck is such a major undertaking over here. They don’t really sell it by just the breast. You have to buy the whole bird. I just end up roasting it and I feel a duck roast coming on after reading this!

  12. Perfect – you and Mad Dog have got me craving duck now!

  13. Amanda says:

    After reading this I found some duck breast! I went on a hunt. I made this almost exactly as directed and IT. WAS. INCREDIBLE. Thanks for the recipe! Decadent as always.

  14. Pingback: Seared Duck Breast with Plum Sauce | What's Cooking

Leave a Reply

