Easy Bento Box Fillers

IMG_5872b

I think the best fillers I’ve ever tasted in bento boxes were Japanese; flavors and colors complimenting each other.  However, that doesn’t mean that you can’t have an attractive, appetizing box using whatever you normally eat or have on hand.  Chicken wings are so bento box friendly!

Parmesan Chicken Wings

1 1/2 lb chicken wings, seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder

1/4 cup mayonnaise

1 tsp Dijon mustard

1/2 -3/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Mix the mayonnaise and mustard together in a bowl, then stir in the chicken wings, coat with the cheese and bake at 400 F for 20 minutes, turn and bake for another 15 minutes.

IMG_5906b

We really like tuna salad and this time I mixed in some canned salmon.

Tuna and Salmon Salad

1 1/2 cups albacore solid tuna

3/4 cups canned salmon

2 scallions, thinly sliced

2 hard boiled eggs, chopped

1/3 cup mayonnaise or more if preferred

1 tsp mustard

Salt and pepper

Mix everything together and pack with a few cucumber slices, 2 cherry tomatoes and some mache.

IMG_5847b

This stir fry filler came together with odds and ends from the refrigerator and freezer.

Cabbage, Sausage and Peppers

1 lb Italian bulk sausage

2 tbsp butter

2 scallions, sliced

1 green bell pepper, sliced

1 very small cabbage head, chopped

Salt and pepper

Crushed red pepper

In a wok, fry and brown the sausage, then remove and place on paper towels to drain. Wipe out the wok with a paper towel, then add the butter, scallions and bell pepper and saute for 2-3 minutes.  Add the cabbage, season with salt and pepper, then stir fry for about 5 minutes.   Put the sausage back into the wok, add 2 tablespoons of water, cover and simmer for another 5 minutes. Pack into the box and sprinkle with crushed red pepper.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, bento, Cooking, Food and Wine, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Easy Bento Box Fillers

  1. Very tasty fillings – good frugal lunches, Rosemary!

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Delicious – it makes me wish I was going to work with a bento box ;-)

  3. I’m just going to have to bring back some bento boxes when I get to Japan!! Great recipes and ideas, and as ever beautifully photographed!

  4. whipadish says:

    Looks like another amazing dish. The Parmesan Chicken Wings look so delicious! And again, beautiful photography! :D

  5. whiteweights says:

    There can never be too many chicken wing recipe ideas, and I have a opened jar of Dijon mustard in my fridge that’s hardly been touched…I know what I’ll be using -that- for :)

    • I cannot believe that your Dijon hasn’t been touched! I go through huge jars every month. Try using it as a side condiment with steak, grilled chicken, on a sandwich for God’s Sake :D

      • whiteweights says:

        Hahaha, I suppose I’ve been eating a lot of curries, stir fry and soup lately. None of which really need Dijon mustard. However, I did use a bit on my ham sandwich today, and this was the first sandwich I’ve eaten in months…but thanks for the suggestions, and sorry for making you so appalled!

  6. meg says:

    Those wings look awesome, and super easy to make!

  7. Pingback: #RECIPE - Parmesan Chicken Wings | MBSIB: The ...

  8. Bassa's Blog says:

    I love tuna! That is a gorgeous bowl and table cloth.

  9. Pingback: Warm Chicken Bruschetta Meal | LauraLovingLife

  10. Raymund says:

    I can imagine my self nibbling on those chicken wings endlessly

Leave a Reply

