A Plate of Bacon

IMG_5505b

Wandering around, on vacation in Bangkok, we stumbled upon a restaurant owned by an American.  He was a Vietnamese War veteran, and liking what he saw during an R&R,  finished his time in the military and returned to Thailand to open a restaurant.  I remember this restaurant because you could order a plate of bacon, nice and crisp with a lettuce leaf and a thick slice of tomato, but essentially, a plate of bacon.

IMG_5529b

In France, you can order a plate of fries for lunch or, I imagine, anytime you want one.  The fries are good and plentiful, enough to satisfy a “normal” appetite.  What if you could go to a restaurant and order a plate of anything you liked?  Imagine a menu advertising the plat du jour as meatloaf, mashed potatoes and peas.   In a perfect world you could say, I’ll have a plate of mashed potatoes or a plate of peas or a plate of meatloaf, instead of being forced to eat a “balanced meal” and perhaps more than you want.  I think I would like a restaurant called, “A Plate of” for the times when the monovore in me rebels against partitioned plates.

IMG_5544b

Today’s dinner consisted of Bavarian oven barbecued ribs, sauteed potatoes and cabbage with bacon. I could have eaten a plate of any of these three and been satisfied.  If I was forced to choose, I think it would have been a plate of cabbage :)

Stir Fried Cabbage with Bacon

1/2 cup lardons

1 tbsp olive oil

1 small head cabbage, chopped

Salt and pepper

Brown the lardons in a wok, add the olive oil and the cabbage and stir fry until the cabbage is crisp tender.  Add a couple of tablespoons of water, cover and steam for a few minutes. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, German, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A Plate of Bacon

  1. It would be nice to order just a plate of one item at times. I do try when I order to ask them not to put something on the plate I don’t like. That way it doesn’t go to waste. A plate of bacon would do me just fine!

  2. Never could a plate contain one of anything better!

  3. PlumGaga says:

    I was a monovore last night and fixed myself a plate of mashed potatoes for dinner. Many years ago, Robert Farrar Capon wrote in The Supper of the Lamb that we should balance food over a day, or even two, rather than trying to balance every meal. This makes a great deal of sense, especially for those of us who live alone.

  4. Janet Rörschåch says:

    Love your restaurant idea. Why not? Sometimes a plate of wilted greens is just enough for me.

  5. I think your restaurant idea sounds great! I had a plate of truffle mac and cheese last year that I could eat daily!

  6. I might be a closet monovore.. I eat each portion of my plate one at a time. I can’t bring myself to move around the plate or, shudder, share everything in one forkful!

  7. Mad Dog says:

    A plate of bacon sounds like it could be a Spanish restaurant – I’d go for the bacon dinner and I love the little pig salt and pepper shakers ;-)

  8. Gorgeous ribs! We have restaurants that all serve pretty much the same fairly simple food but what I do like is that you can say, “I don’t fancy a mixedsalad, can you do me a plate of tomatoes with onions” or “can I just have two fried eggs with garlic please?”! And then be served it with a smile :)

  9. Raymund says:

    I can imagine myself nibbling those ribs. The look so good.

  10. Pingback: 17 Healthier Paleo Cabbage Recipes | Get Fit Bookmark

  11. Pingback: Play Group, Errands and Paleo day 14 | Fueled By Fresh

Leave a Reply

