Day 3: Busted!

IMG_5492b

There’s no telling how long I could have served skinless chicken breasts if I hadn’t noticed a package of two breasts, bone in, skin on in the freezer.  I guess he decided to “vary his route” or something because these were also from the commissary.  Still, I felt pretty confident that, having not noticed or said anything about the two previous days of chicken breasts, he would just swallow them on the third day in silence.  He said, “This is really good, but didn’t we eat chicken yesterday?”  “Well yeah, and the day before”, I didn’t say. Instead I said, “I thought you were craving chicken breasts because you are filling both freezers with packages of them from the commissary.”  “Oh.  No, not really”,  he said.  In the end, we agreed that if I needed chicken breasts for a particular dish, I would buy them at the farmers’ market or never.  Case closed.

IMG_5460b

This is another easy chicken breast recipe;  just sprinkled with Creole seasoning, rubbed with olive oil and roasted.  I served this with steamed zucchini ribbons.

Creole Roasted Chicken Breasts

2 chicken breasts, bone in, skin on

Creole seasoning

Olive oil

2 sprigs of fresh herbs

Season the breasts all over with the Creole seasoning, then rub with olive oil.  Preheat the oven to 375 F, place the chicken on a rack with the herb sprigs.  Roast for 25 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Day 3: Busted!

  1. Haha, what a funny few messages! My dad always loads up the freezer with piles of the same thing. (That he neither likes or eats!) good solution to your problem, made me laugh!

  2. Conor Bofin says:

    That gave me a laugh. Great way to win, apply the blame and keep the peace all in one go. It shows that diplomacy runs in the family.

  3. Pretty funny. Now, I’m curious what other comestibles he will bring home from the commissary inasmuch as chicken is no longer an option.

  4. Ha! I like the way you operate. :)

  5. Glad you could resolve your problem so easily! I’m going to remember this diplomatic technique next time I need to make a point! :)

  6. Brilliant – I have about 60 pomegrantes we bought over from Spain and 20 aubergines – neither of which Big Man particularly loves :) Is it a Man Thing do you think?!

  7. AnotherDish says:

    This is funny. I buy frozen chicken breasts here at wholesale clubs just to have on hand, for when I have a whim for chicken (I buy boneless, skinless, for this purpose). I also buy fresh chicken at the market if I’m planning ahead.

  8. Wonderful! The skin is a delight when crispy!

Leave a Reply

