Day Two: Chicken and Broccoli Stir Fry

IMG_5308b

It’s day two of the skinless chicken breasts cook off and no comment from my husband yet. Well, tomorrow is another day.  I have only begun to amuse myself  :D

IMG_5295b

Easy stir fry; ginger, garlic, sake, the usual suspects.  I steamed the broccoli a bit before adding to the cooked chicken.

Easy Chicken and Broccoli Stir Fry

3 skinless chicken breasts, sliced

2 scallions, sliced

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1 tsp sambal oelek

2 tbsp soy sauce

1 tbsp sake

1 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp sesame oil

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp white pepper

2 tbsp vegetable oil

1 small head of broccoli florets, steamed

Soy sauce

Rice or noodles

Mix the sliced chicken breasts, scallions, garlic, sambal oelek, 2 tbsp of soy sauce, sake, sugar, sesame oil, salt and pepper together.  Allow to marinate for 30 minutes.

Heat the vegetable oil in a wok, then add the chicken mixture.  Cook just until the pink is gone from the chicken.  Add the broccoli and continue to cook until all is heated through. Drizzle with soy sauce and serve with rice or noodles.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Day Two: Chicken and Broccoli Stir Fry

  1. Strangely enough I have an unused head of broccoli and a chicken fillet in the fridge. What will surprise you more is that I have a small jar of a sambal (I’m not sure it’s oelek or another hot bugger), that has waited to be used for quite a while. Guess what we’re having for dinner.

  2. Chicken and veggie stirfry is a gold standard in our house. It is interesting that you steam your vegetables prior to stir frying them.

  3. Nancy says:

    Ah, the things we do to amuse ourselves! Can’t wait to hear how long this chicken breast saga goes on :)

  4. Tessa says:

    I can’t even remember the last time I purchased skinless chicken breast. In my opinion it lacks flavor in comparison to the darker cuts. I am curious to see if your husband notices :).

  5. The stir-fry looks delicious! Just wondering: what is sambal oelek and can you get it at any grocery store? Thanks!

  6. Melissa Mason says:

    What type of sake did you use in this? I’ve never cooked with it before and always shy away from recipes that call for it because I don’t know which type to get. Perhaps it’s time I overcome my sake fear!

  7. Mad Dog says:

    Hilarious, though with your fab cooking he might not notice for days ;-)

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    You have a bold streak in you. I know I could serve chicken breasts to our youngest every day for a year without comment. In this case, I think she will grow out of it. I don’t know what you can do.

  9. AnotherDish says:

    This looks like a fresh and delicious recipe, something that I can easily make during the workweek. Thanks!

  10. My fave of the three skinless chicken breast experiments…love the addition of the sambal oelek here. And broccoli and chicken are such a great match for each other.

Leave a Reply

