Curried Chicken and Zucchini

IMG_5219b

It seems that every time I go into one of the refrigerator freezers to find something interesting to cook, I have to move aside 1 or 2 packages of commissary skinless chicken breasts.  I don’t understand why my husband constantly buys chicken breasts.  It’s not his favorite part of the chicken and we both like the skin on!  I hope this is not the onset of “Old Timer’s Disease.”  I’ll ask him tonight.  Or maybe I should just make chicken breasts everyday until he says something.  Clever girl :)   I wonder if he’ll notice?

IMG_5254b

I went down to the freezers because I needed something extra for my husband’s bento box tomorrow.  This is probably the laziest curry I’ve ever made, but it tastes good and looks pretty in the box.

Chicken and Zucchini Curry

1 tbsp ghee

1 small onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, thinly sliced

3 skinless chicken breast halves, cut into chunks

1 Golden Curry tablet, chopped

1 – 1 1/2 cup chicken broth

1 large zucchini, cut into small chunks

2 hard boiled eggs, halved (optional)

Heat the ghee in a frying pan, then add the onion and garlic, frying until the onion begins to soften.  Add the chicken chunks and fry until all the pink has disappeared.  Add the chopped curry tablet and cook for about 1 minute.  Add the chicken broth, bring to a boil, cover and cook for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the zucchini, then continue to simmer for about 10 minutes.  Add the boiled eggs, if using, and cook for another 5 minutes.  Serve the curry with 1/2 egg.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in bento, Cooking, Food and Wine, Indian, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Curried Chicken and Zucchini

  1. I never stop marvelling at your photos. Magic!

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Golden curry looks interesting, the packaging is quite reminicent of the 70s – it looks like they have mussels or clams on the box…

    • Must be the lighting. To me it looks like bell peppers with meat, likely beef.

      • Mad Dog says:

        I can see some beef pices, but the more rounded orange pieces look unusual.
        It could be down to the patxaran swiming round my head from last night ;-)

        • I had to look up patxaran. How do you drink it? Over ice, straight up?

          • Mad Dog says:

            They keep it in a very cold fridge where I drink it, so no ice.
            It’s easy to make. You buy a cheap aniseed liquor, half fill the bottle with sloes and add a few coffee beans.

            • “cheap aniseed liquor” sounds like a headache, but I’d like to taste it. I’ll look around for the ready made :)

              • Mad Dog says:

                Pastis and Pernod are very cheap in France, but I’m sure you will find Patxaran in a good liquor store.
                I make sloe or damson gin most years, but I’d like to make Patxaran for a change. However, the aniseed liquors are very expensive in London in contrast to France and Spain.

        • Mary says:

          Those are carrots and potatoes with the meat pictured on the box…

          • Hi Mary. How can you tell?

            • Mary Ball says:

              Hello! My mother is Japanese and used this brand often when I was growing up… I also use S&B Golden Curry sauce mix when I have a craving for Japanese Curry, one of my all time favorite comfort foods!!
              It is common to make with onion, carrots and potatoes (like a stew.) I like to use boneless chicken thighs or shrimp, but any kind of meat, pork, or vegetable will work. If you look on the side of the box it will name a few suggestions. On the back of the box it calls for 1-1/3 lbs. meat and 2-1/2 cups water with the entire bar of curry. If I use chicken or shrimp I will remove after stir frying and add back to the pot right before adding curry so it does not overcook.
              This is the first time I have ever commented on a blog, and did not expect you to answer my reply… it’s like hearing back from a celebrity!
              I really love your site… Keep up the great work!!!

  3. Tessa says:

    Lovely chicken curry. I’ve seen that brand of curry before and I have never ventured to try it. Next time I see it, I need to buy it and try it.

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    Photos are excellent as ever. I am amazed (and refreshed) at the use of the curry mix. I spend a lot of my time, in the Chinese wholesaler I visit, poking around in the packages and wondering what, how, why, if and so on. Now I can knock one of those off my list.

  5. nusrat2010 says:

    That first picture of yours is such astonishingly appetizing! OMG! Without any special effects and lighting, you made that picture so real! So inviting!

  6. Hello! I just discovered your blog and I love it! I lived in France for a year and I miss it so much. This dish looks delicious!

  7. Trini says:

    I love the simplicity of your cooking. Very inspiring!

  8. Raymund says:

    Lazy or not I like Japanrse style curries, it has that distinct sweet flavour and mild spices which is very pleasing to the palate.

Leave a Reply

