Pork Belly and German Style Cabbage

IMG_4977b

I do love violet/purple vegetables!  There’s a science fiction like quality about them that I like.  I imagine that early man didn’t think much of the color purple, especially after some deadly encounters with the color red in the form of deadly nightshade.  But you evolve and you learn or you don’t.

IMG_4919b

Today I had a little cabbage and a little pork belly.  Sounded German to me.  The pork belly came from the commissary (my husband is so pleased that the government shut down did not affect the commissary.  It’s open.) but was not USDA approved!  Oh my God! I think they bought local!

IMG_4925b

I scored and salted the little pork belly, rubbed in some Bavarian Essence and put it into my little refrigerator.

IMG_4946b

This is my little kitchen refrigerator.  The drawers are storage drawers and the rest is refrigerator.  When the landlord showed me this refrigerator, I politely congratulated him on the cleverness of having a refrigerator installed as a cabinet, then I gave my husband a look. We have two “normal” sized refrigerators in the downstairs laundry room.

IMG_4948b

Look!  Where have the tajines been?  In the closet because, after being traumatized by the cracking of my gold tajine in the apartment’s cheap oven, I hesitate to use them in the house’s cheap oven.  I felt lucky today.

IMG_4959b

I scattered some sliced onion, rosemary sprigs and apples on the bottom of the tajine.  It looked like Christmas!

IMG_4972b

I know I should have left the pork belly in the refrigerator for overnight to get a perfectly crispy skin, but I didn’t because I just thought of making it this morning.  3 hours.  It was a little crispy.  I ate it.

IMG_5009b

The apples caramelized in the bottom of the tajine and were ugly but tasted fantastic.

IMG_5064b

Pork Belly Roasted with Apples

1 1/2 -2 lb pork belly, scored

Salt

Bavarian Essence

1 onion, halved and sliced

1 -2 apples cut into eighths

4 sprigs fresh rosemary

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp white wine vinegar

Rub the pork belly all over with salt, then with Bavarian Essence.  For a really crispy skin, refrigerate overnight uncovered.  If you can’t be bothered, 3 hours works.

Preheat the oven to 350 F.  On the bottom of a tajine or roasting pan, scatter the onion, apples and rosemary.  Whisk the olive oil and vinegar together, then pour over the onions, apples and rosemary.  Place the pork belly on top and roast for 1 1/4  - 1 1/2 hours.

German Style Cabbage

1/2 cup lardons

1 tbsp olive oil

1 small onion, halved and sliced

1 small head purple cabbage, shredded

3-4 sprigs thyme

1/3 cup white wine vinegar

1/4 -1/3 cup sugar

1 tsp dry mustard

Salt and pepper

Brown the lardons in a wok.  Add the olive oil and the onion, then cook until the onion is soft.  Add the cabbage and thyme, then stir fry for 3-4 minutes.

Mix the vinegar, sugar, mustard, salt and pepper together, stir into the cabbage, then cover and simmer for 45 minutes to 1 hour.

Beverage suggestion:  Beer.  We’re in Germany now.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, German, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Pork Belly and German Style Cabbage

  1. This looks absolutely lovely. Now I must find a tagine. I’ve been meaning to buy one, but so many other things keep taking precedence. Thank you and Cheers!

  2. I can see how happy you are in that apartment. It’s going to be a wrench going back to France or the States.

  3. Mad Dog says:

    The looks delicious :-)

  4. Red food is a treat isn’t it. for the first time ever I’ve managed to grow some red cabbages, they are “hearting up” and will be good after the first frosts, then it will be time to get cooking – do like your addition of lardons, thyme and mustard – I see I’m going to have to experiment

  5. This sounds so delicious! I’m still a little afraid of pork belly – I’m always worried that it will be overly fatty. Tell me I’m wrong?

  6. Beautiful – even the apples! Yes, I see what Roger is saying..it’s going to be tough to leave ;)

  7. nusrat2010 says:

    Love all those ruby red, purple happy hues in your dish :)
    Excellent flavorful recipe.
    Following you from now on, Rosemary :)

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    You know of my love for good pork. I love this Rosemary. The flavours must have been wonderful, never mind the colours.

  9. Beautiful dish! Does this Emile Henry tajine tolerate direct heat or goes only in the oven?

  10. Carolyn says:

    I LOVE this recipe…and not only because it includes pork belly. Love the cabbage too.

  11. Bassa's Blog says:

    I love the violet/purple colors! Wonderful recipe and superb photos – as always!

  12. Pork belly is my weakness in life. Great idea to cook it in a tagine and lovely photos! Looks delicious :) Camilla

  13. Karen says:

    I like the idea of adding mustard to the cabbage…it sounds great. Your meal must have been delicious.

  14. This sounds so delicious!

  15. Raymund says:

    That belly looks delicious!

  16. Pingback: October Produce: What's In Season | The ZocDoc Blog

  17. Pingback: October Produce: What's In Season - The ZocDoc Blog

Leave a Reply

