Barbecued Turkey Salad

IMG_4599b

Last week, at some point, I barbecued some small turkey legs and this morning I found a leg and a half in a tupperware container.  My first impulse was to grab the half leg and take it upstairs to munch in front of the computer for lunch but it sounded as if Quincy whispered, “turkey salad.”

Quincy

He only seems to talk when no one else is here, not even in front of the other cat, Bandit.   That, or I’m losing my mind :D  It would really be helpful if some of the neighbors spoke either English or French, that is, someone besides the Anglican minister next door.

IMG_4558b

Anyway.   I chopped the leftover turkey, added scallions and chopped German picnic eggs. I really like having these pre-boiled eggs on hand and they look pretty in the refrigerator. I think they must color them because they wouldn’t want anyone to mistake them for fresh eggs.  So efficient or anal, however you want to look at it :)  Thank you, whoever’s idea it was!  While in Germany, I shall never boil another egg.

Turkey Salad

Mixed salad greens

1 1/2 – 2 cups cooked turkey, chopped

2 scallions, chopped

2 boiled eggs, chopped

Salt and pepper

1/3 cup mayonnaise

1 heaping tsp grainy mustard

Place the salad greens on a plate and set aside.  Mix everything else together and mound it on top of the greens.    

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Barbecued Turkey Salad

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I think Quincy had the right idea ;-)

  2. He’s always been clever.

  3. reggiorif says:

    Reads/looks yummy! I guess it could also work very well in a sandwich…

  4. Tessa says:

    I really like that you can purchase pretty colored eggs all year long!

  5. They have the prettiest boiled eggs there. I get a kick out of them!

  6. Although coloured eggs sounds cute, I just can’t get over that you can but pre-boiled in their shells eggs at all! Maybe we’re old fashioned here in Australia…

  7. I love those eggs! The colors is so vibrant, perfect for a salad and a discerning kitty:)

  8. Raymund says:

    This is a salad that I would definitely love.

Leave a Reply

