Stuttgart Solitaire or Home Alone

IMG_4481b

I have never been a solitary drinker nor, for that matter, a solitary eater.  If there is no one to share a glass of wine with, I rarely drink wine.  My husband says, I think unfairly, that I just like to get tipsy in public :D  He, on the other hand, can savor and enjoy a quiet glass or two of wine or whiskey in front of the computer or with an interesting book, without the urge to laugh and converse with a companion.  Antisocial I would call it. Opposites, apparently, attract.

IMG_4499b

In addition, I am never so hungry nor so enthusiastic about eating as when I’m sharing a meal with at least one person, preferring gluttony in public to a Mr. Woodhouse bowl of gruel taken in solitude like some people.  Cooking for myself only, other than quick egg dishes or sandwiches, is distasteful  :) and avoided.

IMG_4460b

My husband has traveled to the States and Jade is at boarding school for the week.  What to do about food?

IMG_4394b

My tendency is to stand with a spoon, the refrigerator door agape, and eat spoonfuls of cold leftovers from various tupperware containers.  Instead, today at least, I tried to make an effort.

IMG_4419b

Why piperade?  Well, I haven’t made it in a long time, it’s good, looks pretty, there were all those peppers and cherry tomatoes aging in the downstairs fridge to be rescued and I was thinking of a spinach omelette.  Piperade is a versatile accompaniment for eggs, fish, meat or whatever you like.  I made a big batch to have on hand during the week.  Home alone.

IMG_4457b    

Spinach and Cheese Omelette with Spicy Piperade

2 eggs, beaten

Butter

Salt and pepper

Grated cheese

1 small handful of baby spinach, torn into pieces

Spicy piperade (see below).

Melt the butter in a small saute pan, add the eggs, then season with salt and pepper.  Cook the egg until almost set, sprinkle with the grated cheese, pile the spinach on one side, fold, then continue to cook until done.  Top with the piperade.

Spicy Piperade

3 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

1 large onion, cut in half and thinly sliced

4 sprigs fresh thyme

3 tbsp olive oil

1 red bell pepper, sliced

1 yellow bell pepper, sliced

1 red chilli, sliced

1 cup cherry tomatoes, cut into halves

1 tsp salt

Saute the garlic, thyme and onions in the olive oil until the onion begins to soften.  Add the peppers and chilli, then continue to saute for about 3 minutes.  Add the tomatoes and salt, cover and simmer for 5 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Stuttgart Solitaire or Home Alone

  1. Darya says:

    Delicious! I would call that a feast if I were to make it for myself alone! And I love piperade, especially with that little kick of spice. A perfect meal.

  2. Cynthia says:

    A great effort made for sure. ;)

  3. Deena Kakaya says:

    This is my kind of breakfast or lunch, that looks lovely x

  4. Piperade is a wonderful dish…I wouldn’t have bothered with the omelette, just stirred the eggs into the peppers. The shot with the eggshells looks top. Stuttgart Solitaire beats Russian Roulette,,,,just. Maybe Russian Roulade would be delicious:-)

  5. What a beautiful meal. I, too, love piperade and I bet it went perfectly with the spinach omelet. Glad you ventured to cook a meal for just yourself. :)

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    I do enjoy a whiskey occasionally. In recent times, eldest daughter has taken to having one with me. I always limit myself to one. I find it difficult to get enthusiastic about cooking for myself alone.
    You did good.

    • Thank you Conor. My husband likes an occasional whiskey and misses his buddies from our Rwandan post; EU Ambassador, (Scot), British Ambassador (Scot) and the Swiss Representative (Scot wanna be).

  7. Mad Dog says:

    I know what you mean – I really like cooking for other people, though I do like to eat well when I’m alone and will go the extra mile. You have nevertheless, cooked a delicious meal ;-)

  8. Janet Rörschåch says:

    For someone cooking for simply yourself you certainly make it all look wonderful.

  9. Hooray! Food! says:

    Ooh! I’m so intrigued by the piperade. I love putting special condiments on eggs. Just put up a recipe today for an easy & inexpensive arugula pesto and featured it right on top of a plain ol’ fried egg. I’ll have to try this piperade next time!

  10. I love it when someone can put a bit of effort into cooking a good meal for one, and I love piperade. Nice one

  11. Tessa says:

    Pretty tomatoes and peppers! Bright and cheerful!

  12. Cindy says:

    Hello, I am a “new follower” !!! Sounds Yummy :) Are you still in Sens ? I am a French woman, living close to Sens, who had lived for 3 years in KY, who love to cook too… Small world !!!

    • Hi Cindy. Welcome to the blog! My husband has been working in Stuttgart, but our house is in Sens and when my daughter is on vacation from boarding school, we go there. Do you know Chantal and Antonio?

  13. Pingback: 54 Amazing Paleo Breakfasts to Start Your Morning Right | Paleo Grubs

Leave a Reply

