Chicken Thighs with Herb Roasted Vegetables

IMG_4239b

I love roasting vegetables because well, they’re so roast-able.

IMG_4125b

There seems to be so much more depth or intensity in the flavor of a roasted vegetable.

IMG_4101b Sure the herbs and garlic help but still, I wouldn’t say no to plain roasted vegetables.  With olive oil of course.  Salt and pepper.

IMG_4138b

Go ahead.  Eat a bowl straight from the oven, the vegetarians will never know.  Next time you can add bacon ;)

IMG_4182b

Escapism.  I’m running out of period classics to read and BBC period classics to watch over the internet.  There’s only so many times you can read or watch them within a year’s time. However, though I have read Dickens’ Little Dorrit many times, this week is the first time I’ve watched the BBC miniseries.  I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I liked the BBC production better than the book!  I never like films better than books.  Maybe because although Amy Dorrit was pretty wimpy in the film, she was even wimpier in the book. That’s why the book, Little Dorrit, has never been one of my favorites.   Andy Serkis, who plays the French villain, Rigaud, was perfect!  Just when I was about to be driven insane by the simpering, mewling, wailing and whining of the other characters, M. Rigaud would appear, clearing the air of too much goodness with a hailstorm of villainy!  I simply “adored” him! Yes, yes this is a food blog, but woman doesn’t live by food alone!  Anyway.

IMG_4196b

Sleepless in Stuttgart, I thought about the really large barrel of pork rinds my husband bought at the commissary, which led me to think of cooks who use ground pork rinds for coating meat, and further to wonder how that would taste with the chicken thighs I planned to make today.

IMG_4209b

Then, in a brilliant, jewel-like (diamond) flash of inspiration, I decided to season the thighs with my Lay’s Barbecue Potato Chip Spice, before rolling them in the ground pork rinds.

IMG_4219b

Absolutely brilliant!  I should write a commissary cookbook :D  How did it taste?  Good spicy flavor and crispy. My husband liked it a lot and  I think Jade would too.

Barbecue Chicken Thighs

8 chicken thighs, skin on

Lay’s Barbecue Potato Chip Spice

1 1/2 cups ground pork rinds

A nugget of butter

Season the thighs with the potato chip spice, then roll in the ground pork rinds.

Preheat the oven to 400 F and melt the butter in a baking pan in the oven.  Add the thighs, skin side down and roast for 20 minutes, turn and roast for an additional 15- 20 minutes.

Herb Roasted Vegetables

2 small courgettes, cut into large chunks

1 small cauliflower, broken into florets

12 large mushrooms, halved

1 tbsp fresh sage, chopped

1 tbsp fresh rosemary, chopped

1 tbsp fresh chives, chopped

2 huge cloves of garlic, crushed

Salt and pepper

3 tbsp olive oil

Mix everything together, place in a baking pan and roast for 30 minutes, stirring after 15 minutes.

Beverage suggestion:  German beer

                      

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Chicken Thighs with Herb Roasted Vegetables

  1. That would be a great cookbook idea. :)

  2. Cynthia says:

    Love chicken thighs. Your recipe is quite unique. ;)

  3. ihatediet says:

    if it is skin less its better.

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Ha ha – vegetables and bacon, that’s as naughty as cooking potatoes in goose fat and telling vegetarians it’s olive oil ;-)
    The cook book idea is very good – you should get lays to sponsor one with their crisps!

  5. Are the pork rinds dry and crispy and you crush them? I’ve only ever seen them in the snack section of the grocery store. Sounds interesting…

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    I love the totally random stuff you throw in. I listen to BBC Radio 4Extra during the night via Internet. They regularly have period classics on the go. I don’t enjoy them. Too much simpering for my tastes.
    However, this chicken would be well worth a good simper.

  7. Trish says:

    I too adore period classics. Right now I am watching an Acorn media production of ‘Love in a cold climate’ based on Nancy MItford’s books. Judi Dench stars. I think it is fantastic. Just as good as the books. And it goes on forever.

  8. Ruth says:

    Never heard of Potato chip spice but sounds fun. I love Chicken thighs. So much richer than the breast. Thanks for the recipe

  9. Laura says:

    I am struggling to say something witty about your recent penchant for using American junk food for sasoning but it escapes me. Yes, I know the barbecue chips have “Natural Flavors” (including Natural Smoke Flavor) on the label .. and I realize pork rinds have more protein than fat .. but seriously? :) I do love the roasted veggies!

    • :D You’ll be relieved to know that I am not using the actual chips, but a mixture of my own spices to duplicate the taste of the spices on the chips. Pork rinds? I just had to try it :)

  10. Tessa says:

    Pork rinds as a crust? What a brilliant idea!

  11. Bassa's Blog says:

    I’m pleased to hear that you found another BBC period classic to watch. I always enjoy a great villain! :) Superb recipe, as always! I especially like what you did with the pork rinds.

  12. That looks off the hook! Great photos too… As per usual :)

  13. Dickens would have been a brilliant success as a modern day screen writer. He’s one of the few authors who translate to film or TV perfectly. By the way, what is a “barrel of pork rinds”?

  14. Aw man, period dramas! My wife loves them too (I tend to ‘retire’ to my office) ;)

    Love the chicken dish!

  15. I love dark meat. This is right up my alley and plated so perfectly too.

  16. Pingback: Herb Roasted New Zealand Lamb | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

