Wake Me Up!

IMG_4002b

I was seriously dragging this morning; not wanting to get up or, for that matter, to stay in bed.  Thank God Chantal called me from Sens.  Her husband Antonio is having a birthday celebration on October 5th and wanted to make sure that we would be there.  Okay!  With that happy proposal in mind, I decided to get up and cook something :)

I’m a big fan of Bord Bia, the Irish Food Board, and follow them on Facebook.  They often have some really imaginative recipes that always surprise me because although I know that both Irish and British cuisine have evolved, my unconscious thoughts on Irish cuisine revolve around different varieties of potatoes.  Sorry Conor and all the other Irish people, I know it’s not true.  Anymore :D

IMG_3968b

I’ve always liked eating eggplant/aubergine with eggs and since I didn’t have any ciabatta bread, I was happy to substitute in aubergine slices.  This is not exactly Bord Bia’s recipe, but you will see that I was heavily influenced.

All of my new little links go somewhere.  Are you happy lady?

Beverage suggestion:  Juice or Champagne.  Your call :)

Spicy Fried Egg with Aubergine

2 slices of aubergine

Salt

Olive oil

1 tbsp butter

1 large egg

Salt and pepper

1 garlic clove, sliced

4-6 slices red chilli for babies or as you like

Sliced chives

1 tsp balsamic vinegar

Lightly score the aubergine slices on each side, then sprinkle with salt and set aside for about 10-15 minutes.  Dry the slices off with a paper towel, then brush both sides with olive oil.  Brown the slices in a dry pan, then set aside and keep warm.

Melt the butter in the same pan that you cooked the aubergine, add the egg, salt, pepper, garlic and the chilli.  Fry to your taste.

Sprinkle the egg with the sliced chives and vinegar, slide on top of the reserved aubergine and eat immediately.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Irish, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Wake Me Up!

  1. Now, that’s a way to start your day, aubergines and eggs. I love the sound of aubergine better than eggplant, but in this case I think I’m going to copy your recipe and call it “Egg ‘n Eggplant,” :-)

  2. Karen says:

    What a nice way to start your day. I’m doing good just to make myself tea early in the morning. :)

  3. I could do a plate of that right now :)

  4. I could do a plate of that right now :)

  5. What a beautiful way to start the day, both the dish and the veges are colorful to gear you up with energy. I am sure it’s delicious too.

  6. That photo looks absolutely delightful. Fantastic shot.

  7. Oh champagne for me please! I have a steady supply of aubergine here still so it’s good to have new ideas. And now I’m singing Wham songs to myself and annoying the dogs….;)

  8. Root | Verse says:

    That sounds like a lovely breakfast! I’ll have to try this sometime.

  9. scratchbatch says:

    I just had to giggle based on the title of your posting – I’ve been listening to that song in the morning for motivation and it just struck me as funny that the same song appeared in the blogosphere. Your combination sounds lovely – eggs and aubergine might make a cameo in this dorm kitchen ! Cheers :)

Leave a Reply

