Pork Loin Envy

IMG_3929b

Inspiration for this recipe comes from Virginia over at Our Growing Paynes who made a gorgeous looking pork loin, coating it with garlic mustard, red wine vinegar and olive oil.  I liked the sound of that and I just happened to have a 3 lb piece of pork loin.  Do check out Virginia’s recipe!

IMG_3890b

With the pointy end of a  paring knife, I poked numerous holes in the pork loin, rubbed it with a mixture of grainy mustard (moutarde a l’ancienne) and olive oil, then, a la Jamie, I stuck various herbs into the holes.  I don’t know why but, when I was poking the herbs in, I kept thinking of Christmas tree decorating.  Jamie is kind of odd, but he’s young, rich, knows his cuisine and is English.  So that’s why :D

IMG_3914b

I could have roasted the loin in the oven with veg and fruit on the bottom for “bottom of the pan relish”, but the oven has just been cleaned.  I don’t want to mess it up or clean it up anytime soon, and the grill is easier to clean.  I wonder how long I can last?  First snow storm?  It could snow tomorrow; I’m in Stuttgart now, as the ketchup hoarding, Burger King counter girl told me.  But who says grilling has to stop in cold weather?  I’ve got hats, gloves and 3 pairs of UGGs!  Still, I’m probably going to use the oven before then and have to clean it.  Moan, b****, and complain.

IMG_3804b

Okay, you gardening bloggers, what is this little white pumpkin looking vegetable?  I bought it because it was cute and then searched the internet to find out how to cook it.  The internet said it was a lumina squash/pumpkin with a white exterior and an orange interior. How exciting, I thought!  It would look fantastic, white skin on and orange flesh, pan roasted and steamed with herbs.  Wrong!

IMG_3830b

The interior made me think of Chinese winter squash.  Could this be a white acorn squash? Whatever it is, it was quite good, pan roasted with fresh oregano.  It tasted a lot like potato.

IMG_3836b

Another surprise was the purple beans that began to turn green as they cooked.  What a rip off!  I didn’t think the color would change!  I poured them out of the pan onto a platter, took the picture before all the lovely purple was gone, then put them back into the pan and, a la old school, found it necessary to cook them until they were gray green.  Oh la, la!  I miss the French “mangetout” green beans and, of course,  M. Parret.

IMG_3878b

Yet and still,  this was unanimously a very good Sunday lunch.  Thanks for the inspiration Virginia!

IMG_3954b

Grilled Pork Loin with Herbs and Mustard

3-4 lb pork loin

1/3 cup grainy mustard

1 1/2 tbsp olive oil

Salt and pepper

Fresh rosemary and thyme sprigs

Bay leaf pieces

Olive oil for basting

Poke holes in the pork loin all over with the point of a sharp knife.  Whisk the olive oil into the mustard, add salt and pepper, then rub into the pork.  Insert the sprigs of rosemary and thyme, plus the bay leaf pieces into the holes.

Preheat the gas grill, all burners blazing to 500F.  Turn off the burners on one side, put the roast on the cold side, close the top and grill for 15 minutes.  Turn the burners on the hot side to maintain a temperature of 400 F and continue to grill the roast for about 45 minutes, basting every 15 minutes with olive oil

Wine suggestion: Merlot

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, English, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Pork Loin Envy

  1. Laura Hanson says:

    The purple beans are a very old variet called Royal Burgundy. I have grown them for years. They are easy to find on the bush due to the contrasting color. The white, ghost pumpkin is more ornamental than edible.

  2. Darya says:

    Ah, I LOVE pork loin! Beautiful recipe, that I can only dream of, as my boyfriend doesn’t like mustard… oh well. And yes, purple beans always turn green when you cook them, I also had a disappointing experience cooking them, thinking it would be special, and realizing they were just the regular old green beans! Still, I am sure they were delicious… :)

  3. Thanks for putting in a link to mine! I’m a bit jealous you had good enough weather to grill. As that is what I wanted to do but for the thunderstorms. Love the herbs. :)

  4. Mad Dog says:

    It’s a great shame about the beans – I seem to remember that some other purple vegetables do the same. I was most disappointed the first time I drank Bombay Sapphire gin – I was expecting it to be blue. I’ve discovered a new gin recently, London No 1, which is blue in colour and stands out from the crowd ;-)
    Nice pork!

  5. cecilia says:

    As soon as my pork loins stop running around the paddock i will try this.. yum! c

  6. Snow? I’m hoping it doesn’t hit 90. Beautiful piece of meat.

  7. A worthy Sunday lunch indeed

  8. I’m just guessing, but, I bet you’re not working for the German tourist board:)

  9. Catherine says:

    My name is Catherine and I am a 17 year old from NJ. I absolutely love food. Obsessed, sooo with that I created a social network for food lovers. It would be amazing if you could sign up! It is called Bisqit.com.

    Bisqit is a food-centric social network whose mission is to connect people based on their mutual interests in cuisine. Find and connect to like-minded users who share your taste, and trade recipes, tips, and restaurant recommendations. Post your best food photography, discover the exact location of that secret bar, and learn all about great new places to go eat.

    Connect to people you know (and people you don’t) who like to eat what you eat. Share your love for food with Bisqit’s global community and start experiencing breakfast, lunch, and dinner, both at home and dining out, in a whole new way.

    Test it out! If you are intrigued by the site please pass on! I make your recipes all the time and would love for you to sign up!

  10. Fabulous Sunday lunch and had to chuckle about cooking the beans old school style :)

  11. Jess says:

    Yum! This looks delicious! It’s been a while since I cooked a pork loin; I’m feeling inspired!

  12. Wanderland says:

    Just had my dinner but this seriously makes me wanna eat again! :-)

  13. Raymund says:

    That I agree looks gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

