“Demonic Tots”

IMG_3534b

Yesterday my husband asked for a dinner with the “spinach” burgers I used to make in Senegal.  After searching most of the day, I finally found the recipe card in my Fanny Farmer cookbook that is miraculously here in Stuttgart.  Lucky hubby.  The recipe card, not in my handwriting, must have be given to me by an acquaintance.  I have never written anything on a recipe card in my life!  I remembered that the burgers were tasty and so was happy to try them again.

IMG_3511b

I loved the colors in the mixture; tomato, goat cheese, spinach, ground steak, dill and onion. At this point, I just wanted to mix and stir fry this in a pan and eat it like that, but I responsibly formed it into patties.  So far so good.

IMG_3523b

From the very beginning, I had my doubts about the patties holding up in the frying pan and wanted to add an egg but couldn’t remember if I had done this in Senegal.  Still, I should have in Stuttgart.  They barely came out in one piece.  This experience and my lead photograph reminded me of the food pictures on Plan 59 of  “Demonic Tots and Deeply Disturbing Cuisine” from the 50s.  http://www.plan59.com/galleries/scarykids/scarykids.htm  Check out this site it’s entertaining :)

 

The burgers tasted great but next time I’ll add an egg.

Spinach Burgers

1 lb ground steak

1 cup baby spinach, vaguely chopped

1/4 onion, chopped

1 tomato, seeded and chopped

1/2 cup goat cheese, crumbled

1 tsp dried dill

Salt and pepper

1 egg, beaten (optional)

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp butter

In a large bowl, mix together the ground steak, spinach, onion, tomato, goat cheese, dill, salt, pepper and egg (if using).  Form the mixture into patties and fry in the olive oil and butter.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Recipes, Sandwich and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to “Demonic Tots”

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I’m not generally a burger fan (I’m saving that for my old age when I’ve got no teeth left), but you certainly have some good flavours in there!
    Do you suppose those kids were considered cute back in the 50’s?

  2. Haha.. that’s quite the website!! Those kids were demonic looking! But not your burgers.. your cooking always turns out.. with or without that egg, I’d tuck into one of those burgers any day:)

  3. Scary kids! I usually use an egg for meatballs as they are small but not for burgers. Sometimes they fall apart a bit.

  4. Scary kids indeed! Don’t often make burgers but I think I need to try these – love all the flavours.

  5. Bassa's Blog says:

    Great mix of flavors. I’m a huge fan of 50s advertising pictures – it was a different world then!

  6. Raymund says:

    Cheese in a beef patty, now that is interesting and sound crazy delicious.

  7. s3 says:

    I made this on Saturday for my family. Although I used egg, I did have trouble keeping some of the patties together. I also substituted feta for the goat cheese.

    It was very tasty & flavorful.

    I poured marinara over some of the leftovers for lunch. It was also quite good.

Leave a Reply

