Reincarnation

IMG_3485b

Mope or blog?  No contest.  I tried moping for a while; wearing drab clothing, washing dishes that could have gone into the dishwasher, nearly forgetting our 37th wedding anniversary, reading Jane Austen for the nth time, cooking and eating mechanically.  I was starting to get on my own nerves!  Then last night my husband told me about a conversation he had with his colleagues.  That and My Dad’s Lunch http://mydadslunch.wordpress.com/ cheered me right up :)

1rst woman:  I’ve got a huge spider in my apartment.  I’ve got to catch it and kill it!

2nd woman:  You shouldn’t do that, it could be your cousin or a relative come back as a spider.

My husband:  Better to kill him and move him on to his next life.  Probably hates being a spider.

IMG_3471b

While I was in Sens, here in Stuttgart my husband became friendly with the butcher at the Real Supermarket.   Real is an okay supermarket with a real butcher, pun, and local fruits and vegetables.  Anyway, the butcher has been very helpful to my husband who was, frankly, starving to death because before I left, I warned him about the dangers of buying food from the military commissary; high fructose syrup, fake honey, bizarre chemicals in prepared meats and who knows what else!  But no horse meat, no worries there ;) Yesterday, he made a visit to his butcher and brought home some very thin, boneless pork chops and ground steak.  He watched him grind it.

IMG_3419b

On Saturday I visited Waiblingen’s farmers’ market and unenthusiastically bought a mix of white and brown mushrooms.  They seemed a little careworn and dry to me but okay for when you’re moping :D

IMG_3448b

Shallot, thyme and butter saw them right and I enthusiastically ate some for lunch.

IMG_3498b

Normally, I either grill my pork chops or bake them in the oven, but these were quite thin and I didn’t want to cook them dry, so I gave them a quick saute in the pan with thyme, rosemary, butter and olive oil.  That worked.

Herbed, Pan Fried Pork Chops

6 thin, center cut, boneless pork chops

Salt and pepper

1 tbsp butter

1 tbsp olive oil

1 sprig thyme

1 sprig rosemary

Season the pork chops with salt and pepper.  Heat the butter and olive oil in a saute pan, add the herbs and pork chops, then cook the chops on both sides until brown and just cooked.

Buttery Mushrooms with Thyme

2 shallots, thinly sliced

2 tbsp butter

1 lb mixed white and brown mushrooms, sliced

Leaves from 3-4 sprigs of thyme

Saute the shallots in the butter until soft.  Add the thyme leaves and mushrooms and continue to saute until the mushrooms began to release their liquid.

Wine suggestion:  Provence Rose

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Reincarnation

  1. Oh my! Those buttery mushrooms with thyme? You are singing my song. I am so glad fall is on its way. Mushrooms! Then, of course, over pork chops, heavenly.

  2. Cath says:

    Mope and then blog! :D

  3. Your writing is always so engaging, the photos wonderful and the recipes simply mouth-watering :-)

  4. You read Austen when you’re moping, and then you eat butter to get out of the funk? I think we’re doppelgängers! What a great person you are :-) and what a great blog!

  5. Jody and Ken says:

    Well, as a fan of horsemeat… anyway your mushrooms and pork chops look wonderful. How to mope when you’re rocking over a stove. Ken

    • Thank you. I’ve never had horsemeat but it’s definitely on my list. There is a stall in Sens that sells gourmet horse flesh and after getting some recommendations for recipes, I’ll try it. It depends on which stove you’re rocking over, Ken :)

  6. After a while moping becomes rather hard work – much easier ot pretend to smile, then eventually it becomes a real one (promise, I speak frome experience!). Love the mushrooms and chops – just the sort of thing I should be making right now for lunch :)

  7. Divine! I am so trying this out for dinner.

  8. I too find that moping = lack of culinary enthusiasm. Still, a lovely dish resulted!

  9. Mad Dog says:

    A nice horse steak would cheer you up – the good stuff is better than beef!
    Apparently the Belgians are the largest consumers of horse flesh in Europe. I’ve read that they even cook their fries in in horse fat, with delicious results ;-)

  10. Pork and mushrooms are always good with each other. I like the thyme bit cos the flavour can just accompany pork so well. Thanks for sharing!

  11. As always great pics and a great recipe…might not like being a spider but very useful for getting flies and other unwanted creatures😉

  12. This looks absolutely amazing! :D

  13. Tessa says:

    You make beautiful meals when you mope. I hope that you smile soon.

  14. Spoon Feast says:

    I adore your husbands logic! Sound thinking. I’d bet he hates being a spider too. Had to laugh!

  15. Bettina says:

    Everything looks so good!!! Gonna try it definitely!!!

  16. Delicious dish! And I’m sitting here alone in the office giggling about the spider joke :-)

  17. Bassa's Blog says:

    I like your husband’s logical response :) The pork chops look delicious. By the way, I re-watched the BBC adaption of Pride and Prejudice recently – perfect casting and very close to the book.

  18. lolarugula says:

    I’m sorry but it’s nice to hear you mope about a bit. I’m moping a bit today myself, so thanks for a little humor and food inspiration. And thank you for turning me on to My Dad’s Lunch – what a wonderfully fun site!

  19. Mama Ba says:

    Yummy dish! Since I don’t eat pork, I will try it with goat meat.

  20. Pingback: 20 of the Best Paleo Pork Chops Recipes

  21. Love your story. I had a friend who had a little gadget to vacuum spiders in the house and then “shoot” them outside. I hope they saved an important friend or relative :-)

  22. I find I have to keep reincarnating in this life, never mind the next. x

Leave a Reply

