Paris Express

IMG_2847bJade had to go into Paris for educational testing.   Our usual excitement was missing because we knew that this would be work, not play :(  Our philosophy has been that if you’re going to Paris, your time is your own to spend aimlessly wandering around, eating and buying things.  We were there from 10:30 a.m to 5:00 p.m. and scarcely got a chance to do anything amusing.

IMG_2811b

While Jade was in her first session of testing, I wandered the neighborhood in order to identify a place for lunch.  Standing cheerily in his doorway was an Italian provocateur par excellence.  “Come on in, buy something”, his smile said.  I couldn’t resist.  I never can.  I don’t really try :)  “If you don’t take a good picture, photoshop will not help”, says Roger Stowell http://www.rogerstowell.com/.  And of course he’s right.  It’s just no fun taking the tripod on the train and dragging it around in Paris or anywhere else. I need an assistant :D 

I bought burrata cheese (so creamy), roasted marinated vegetables, balsamic vinegar, Parma ham, gnocchi and spinach ravioli; the pasta so fresh, so soft, that you knew it was made that morning.  The place:  Specialites Italienne d’Auteuil, 13 rue Pierre Guerin, Paris 75016. He’s open every single day, including half day Sunday.  I’m going back.

IMG_2813b           

The brasserie I found for lunch was Le Village D’Auteuil, recommending itself by the number of locals eating there.  The food was M. Parret correct and so was the glass of Rose.

IMG_2787b

Jade adored the sauce that came with her salmon and ratatouille.

IMG_2796b

And I adored the caramel sauce that came with my generous serving of lamb chops and seasonal vegetables.  We both adored the fact that the vegetables were fresh from the market :)

IMG_2807b

Although we “witchily” remarked that the cafe gourmand was not the best that we’ve had, it was correct and the coffee was good.  The place:  Le Village d’Auteuil, 48 rue d’Auteuil, Paris 75016 

   

          

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Paris Express

  1. Karen says:

    Sounds like you found a wonderful little shop to return to on another day. :)

  2. Blurry he may be – but he looks cheerful, message received!

  3. And I still haven’t bought a tripod! Steady hands…

  4. I take a deep breath when I take the pics. :) I should get a decent tripod though. I love, love, burrata. Amazing stuff.

  5. Trish says:

    I would like to respectfully apply for the position as your assistant. I am not at all organized,and am rather averse to taking orders, but I can see myself carrying your tripod and assisting you as you shop for tremendous food and scope out ‘correct’ places to dine.

  6. agreed. will work for food ;)

  7. Mad Dog says:

    It looks like you had a good time regardless.
    Your Deli picture doesn’t look like it was shot in especially low light. The trick is to always shoot hand held at a shutter speed of 1/60th second plus. If the lens is a telephoto, make sure the shutter speed is at least equal to the focal length of the lens, i.e. for a 200mm lens, use 1/200th second or faster. If necessary open up the aperture. If you are walking around with the camera on an automatic setting, it’s probably best to set it to Shutter Priority at 1/60th second or faster. In low light change the ISO setting to 400 or 800 – I hope that’s helpful ;-)

  8. I’ve got a 50mm 1.4. Roger taught me how to shoot with that. I need a tripod. All that fancy language, Dog, I don’t understand what you are saying. :)

  9. Paris is just foodies heaven! Even the first pic looks so divine! Will go one day. :P

  10. Damn, the lamb chop looks seared into perfection,
    they had a generous portion too…

  11. sylviadewy says:

    The lamb recipe looks so mouth watering. I am drooling already and feeling hungry now! :P

  12. That food looks AMAZING. I wish I could eat it right now!

  13. Paula says:

    I save that adress, you always know you’re going back to Paris, and a good burrata cheese must the travel to that shop, I’m sure!!

    Oh, now I’m craving for burrata, I should cry!! :P

Leave a Reply

