Chez Le Poissonnier

IMG_2737b

Yesterday my fishmonger posted promotions on his just in seafood on Facebook; Red Label bouchot mussels and live or cooked Brittany lobsters.  I was the first in line this morning. Really.  Of course I took the cooked lobsters because the lobster slaughtering man is not here :)

IMG_2688b

Over coffee at the Litteraire with M. Parret, I outlined the the plan for today’s lunch; lobster cocktail as entree and Mediterranean mussels as the main dish.  Of course M. brought up cheese and rhapsodized over a superior Camembert he would be serving :)

IMG_2685b

As promised by the “Monger”, the mussels were truly superior; a little larger than usual, plump and ocean fragrant.  He gave me a bottle of wine to make the broth.  M. Parret was gobsmacked (I read this in some British book) when I told him.

IMG_2760b

I’m getting more for when my husband comes on Saturday!  Ab-so-lutely fabulous!

IMG_2772b

Of course Le Parret was right about the Camembert.

IMG_2785b

For the moule recipe, go here: http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/01/18/moules-mediterranee/.  Use almost any kind of wine, except maybe Gallo Thunderbird, for the broth.  I usually use leftover wine that I didn’t particularly like.  A “vin de table” level Muscadet or Bourgogne Aligote is fine.  The wine I was given was more than drinkable.

IMG_2729b

Lobster Cocktail with Charentais Cantelope (Inspired by http://www.deliciousmagazine.co.uk/recipes/lobster-with-melon-and-cucumber-cocktail)

Meat from 2 medium sized lobsters, cut into reasonably small pieces

1/2 small Charentais cantelope, seeds removed and diced

1/2 winter cucumber, seeds removed and diced

1/3 cup mayonnaise

1 tbsp creme fraiche

1 tsp Wasabi cream

3 drops of Sriracha hot sauce

1 tsp lemon juice

Frisee lettuce, torn

Put the lobster, cantelope and cucumber in a mixing bowl.   Mix the mayonnaise, creme fraiche, wasabi cream, Sriracha sauce and lemon juice together, then gently stir into the lobster mixture.

Layer the lettuce on the bottom of 6 fruit/dessert glasses and top with the lobster.

         

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Chez Le Poissonnier

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Outstanding! I think you’d better stay in Sens ;-)

  2. That all looks and sounds so delicious!

  3. Another lovely meal. I really like the lobster with melon and the nice little touch of heat from the wasabi and sriracha sauce while Baby Lady’s favorite meal is mussels. I very much like your approach to food and your photos are always “picture perfect.” :)

  4. Every bit of it – the most exquisite lunch. I can do the seafood, but I have serious Camembert envy! Thanks, Tracey

  5. Your Lobster salad sounds so delicious with the little added zing of the wasabi.

  6. Michelle says:

    What a lovely lobster salad! I adore Charentais melons. One year we tried to grow them, and babied them like crazy (even making like hammocks for them!), but they were rather blah. Disappointing.

  7. I just went to food heaven. Dish looks amazing!

    http://www.allinasoiree.com/

  8. Karen says:

    What an absolutely delicious lunch from beginning to end. Your lobster cocktail sounds wonderful with the melon.

  9. Based on how you’ve described M. Parret I bet he was gobsmacked! :) Lovely dish with the lobster. It’s been way too long since I’ve had any but I’ll be in Maine shortly and it’s on my list!

  10. Amanda says:

    Too good. I love mussels. I like to do mine spicy with white wine and chorizo. I have a recipe for it on my page. What a great way to serve lobster too. Light and sweet. Such vibrant pictures.

  11. Looks so fantastic, Rosemary! It will be very sad to leave Sens again.

Leave a Reply

